“Utan Ilonggo”.. say what?!.. “Fely J’s” satiates.. Greenbelt 5 radiates (with the joy of the season)!

14 11 2008

I originally intended my first official post to be about “Cupcakes by Sonja“.  But Cecille said I can start with the one below which I originally shared with them thru e-Mail this morning.

 

I HAD to really meet up with Drei (that’s Batman) last night (I was holding for ransom something he needed.  Hehehe..).. and upon Partner’s advice (together with previous ones from Cecille and Data), we decided to finally check out “Fely J’s” in Greenbelt 5.  I’ve heard a lot about it as it has been “all over the media” since it opened its doors to fans of Filipino and Asian cusine.  I’ve seen it on TV, read about it in the papers.. and the best recommendation of all – heard about it from friends who have been short of gushing :):):) ..

 

Your friends are your best resources for where to go, where to eat.. what to eat.”

 

True enough, the place was packed!  Whoever said that the Philippines is on the verge of smarting under the lash of and eventually reeling from an economic crisis must’ve not been to Greenbelt 5.  (Or probably, the recession is really still next year, as bannered by the Philippine Daily Inquirer the other day.)  Before we even reached the place, Batman and I had to snake our way through an American Express-sponsored cocktails at the lobby of Greenbelt 4 for what they call as “their loyal clients who patronize the 9 luxury labels under that roof.”  I looked at Batman and he probably got what I was thinking – we could just line up for the buffet ourselves and get a free pass!  Bwahahaha!  Who will know?!  I got a really good wristwatch on and the girl manning the buffet would probably think I’m loaded.  Bwahahaha!!!

 

As “Fely J’s” was packed, we had to settle for the verandah.  The lighting wasn’t good at all at that part of the restaurant, and all we had was a small votive candle (OMG?! A candle-lit dinner?!  Bwahahaha!) meant to shoo away mosquitoes!  Usually, I’d just up and leave if I don’t like the seating location.. but this was “Fely J’s” – almost the new Holy Grail of good dining – so I had to content myself with what was available.  Besides, we didn’t call in ahead of time.  So there we were, and as I flipped though the impressive menu, I had to trust our waiter and of course Batman, on what to order – but I just made a demand for one thing, the “Dilis-cious Rice”!  I remember Data telling me it’s the one thing to order – plump, fluffy white rice, generously topped with sauted black beans and crispy dilis..  yum!

 

The others, we had to choose on a whim and pure gut feel – the “Lola somethingCrispy Pork Adobo, the Thai Green Curry Chicken, and the “Utan Ilonggo.”  The adobo was good (though I’m not an adobo person).  The meat was very tender and flavorful, fried to the point of just making the outside crisp, with the inside kept moist.  The Thai green curry chicken could use some more heat, but it was nevertheless good.. just REALLY more heat.  But the “utan ilonggo” was the most pleasantly surprising thing for me.  It was a soup of fresh vegetables (saluyot, thinly sliced kalabasa, okra, onions, and malunggay) with really succulent shrimp and manila clams.  It was “hot” heaven on a soup bowl!  The flavor was very delicate.. very clean even!  There almost wasn’t salt in the broth, but it was really comforting.  Sarrrap!!!  The soup did it for me!  The service was great too.  The staff was very attentive and very courteous, even accommodating my whims to get my “kamias crush” slush to the right sweetness (a little bit more sugar syrup please!).  Too bad the poor lighting made all the images I took with my Nokia 5310 XpressMusic cellphone camera grainy.

 

img_0787

Don't you just love this sugar-free 'Lemon Torte' from 'Classic Confections' in Greenbelt 5!

 

Right after dinner, off we went to Classic Confections to get our load of my favorite russian tea cookies, and sugar-free lemon torte..  as well as rocky road bars and walnut bars. 

 

image097

Batman: "Ang tagal namang magbukas!".. Hehehe..

After a feast like that, you’d really have to walk and hopefully burn some of the calories off.  So we did just that.  And I marvelled at how wonderful the development of Greenbelt 5 has been – now extending all the way to where the old Greenbelt 1 is.  The best part I love???  The fact that 8 of the world’s best wristwatch brands are opening flagship stores in the Philippines, finally!  They just further perpetuate one thing in this life – sometimes, we just have to really desire something we know we can’t have.  Another way of saying it??  Dream big.  Bwahahaha!!!  And eat well while doing it.

 

Definitely, I had to take the requisite photos.  Especially since Greenbelt 5 is already so decked for the (Christmas) season!  The Christmas trees are very nice, though Batman said that they were leaning towards the traditional.  But I love the color scheme and ‘traditional’ is good.  Can’t help but love the classic!

 

image1011

"Do you see us in the Christmas ball?"

Batman, and all my friends know that I am such a cam-whore, a lot of times regardless of the setting..  Of course there are the required escalator photos..  and one shot I particularly like which should be captioned: “Do you see us in the Christmas ball?”..  Zara was such a clothing heaven..  Batman stood in front of the Patek Philippe store space and with a thought bubble wondered: “Ang tagal namang magbukas!”.  Hehehe..

Actions

Information

3 responses

17 11 2008
jen

well, well, well….look do we have here?! 😛

you guys went out to a nice dinner again without me…send some of those pretty lemon torte my way, would you? 😉

p.s. pakisamahan na din ng fit and right…isang box ha?! 🙂

Like

26 11 2008
jinoe

Utan Ilonggo :D. Yummy. We also call it “laswa” in Ilonggo. I prefer eating eat with dried fish instead of the shrimps and clams.

Very easy to prepare. Just for the vegetables, it would cost roughly 20 pesos. Its my weekend vegetable treat.

Like

8 12 2008
Steven

oh my… how much is that lemon torte… looks good! i soo am wishing to taste some of those.. i had a hard time looking any distinguishable figure in the crystal ball, but after a minute of making “tutok” in the screen, i found out there is a hand! there’s a hand! hahaha… holding a camera. hahaha

Like

Leave a Reply

