New offerings from Cupcakes By Sonja!

26 01 2009
cupcakes_enteng-solo-00

With a Red Velvet Vixen Cupcake and Caramel Hot Chocolate... all's fine in the world.

 

I woke up on Sunday morning with a hankering for cupcakes that just wouldn’t let up.  So off I went to Cupcakes By Sonja!

 

The very nice Ms. Sonja L. Ocampo, a very busy glorious presence in an understated little black dress, was again in the store.  She was in the kitchen, working with her baking staff, going over batches of cupcakes, fussing over her masterpieces.  I had to wait for my turn so I perched myself on one of the stools by the bar facing the beautiful counter display.  I saw that the limited edition Barack Obama Chocolate Surprise cupcakes were still available.  When I lifted my face up to check the handwritten menu on the boards on the walls, Sonja had already seen me and we greeted each other by waving “hello.”

cupcakes_menu

There are so many new items to try out! And, YES WE CAN! Hehehe...

 

Going back to the handwritten menu board, I noticed that there were a number of “new” items!  I particularly took note of the “Chocolate Cream Cheese Swirl.”  I couldn’t help but wonder how this would be, knowing for a fact that one of my most memorable chocolate cream cheese cake experiences was the “Godiva Chocolate Cheesecake” from The Cheesecake Factory in San Francisco.  My friends and I would take the whole 215.88-miles round trip just so I could get that cheesecake!  Other new items are the Key Lime, Chocolate Tofu, Smores, Choco Chip Cookies, Caramel Pecan Brownie, Coco Blondie, Salted Valrhona Choco Bites, Nutter Butter, and Lemon Tea Cake.  They all sound so yummy!!!

cupcakes_red-velvet-vixen
With a smile, served by the staff – the Red Velvet Vixen Cupcake!

 

cupcakes_caramel-hot-chocolate

Caramel Hot Chocolate. Tsokolate Eh!

 

But as usual, I asked for my favorite of the moment – the Red Velvet Vixen Cupcake – though this time, I asked for a hot drink to go with – the “Caramel” Hot Chocolate.  You already know how much and how deeply I feel for this confection that is Sonja’s red velvet cupcake.  What I was kind of excited to try was the hot chocolate (which I later realized to be spiked with “caramel”).  It was good.  Really comforting even!  Very much like how a warm blanket would feel on a very chilly night.  It was a bit thick, enough to bring back thoughts of just how sinful and how rich and superior in quality the “Tsokolate Eh!” of our ancestors must have been.

 cupcakes_red-velvet-vixen-013

Without question, I went through my cupcake in a breeze.  But of course, as I devoured this “piece of cake,” Sonja was kind enough to keep me company, so to speak (remember, she is always so busy!).  She asked me about the next places I’m planning to visit.  I rattled off a few names – of course, Thai at Silk was at the top.  I want to go back there and, as I had told her, take good pictures of the dishes.  Then, there’s Azuthai.  And then, I mentioned to her that I have wanted to go back to one of my years-long favorites, a restaurant I first discovered in the Magallanes commercial complex, where it was right next door to an art gallery.  Lately, I’ve been to both its branches in the Greenbelt 2 restaurant strip and at Corte de las Palmas in Alabang Town Center.

 

Bright-eyed and beaming with a smile so wide, Sonja said that she is part-owner of that restaurant.  Without hesitation, she gave me her number and said that should I decide to visit next time, she would be glad to have the chef meet me up and who knows, we could collaborate on a dish!  Wishful thinking…  Though right now, I already have in mind a (send-off) dinner plan for someone really important

 

Seeing that I am a years-long fan of their restaurant, I went on declaring my all-time favorites with unbridled enthusiasm.  I have a “holy trinity” of sorts (she already knows which ones!).  But during the course of our conversation, what I took away was Sonja’s palpable pride on her chef and her staff.  As another very successful restauranteur – Margarita Araneta Fores – once shared on an interview somewhere, one’s staff is key to a restaurant’s success.  And just like Ms. Fores’, some of Sonja’s staff from her other ventures have stayed with her, and one of them, Lucky, now works at Cupcakes.

 

Which brings me to a fitting close to this post.  A huge shoutout to the wonderful staff of Cupcakes By Sonja’s who always ensures that a visit to their store is such a pleasurable experience – Kim, Debbie, Lucky and Len!  Hi to the bakers too!

 cupcakes_enteng-solo-01

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

