Strutting down Bonifacio High Street

3 02 2009

FOR THE first time last night, I noticed that the seasons – at least as we know them here in the Philippines – are already changing.  Superman himself agreed with me and somewhat expressed dread over the thought of the coming scorching summer heat.  Which in my books is rivaled only by the summers I’ve experienced in Shanghai and Folsom.

 

The functional work of art below – a fountain (sorry I don’t know who made this one) – is the first thing I look for, and stare at, everytime I get to Bonifacio High Street on early Monday evenings.  My travel time from work has been constant and everytime, I have been staring at this beautiful fountain (or water something) in the darkness for the longest time, so to speak.  So when I felt the rays of the sun still breaking free of the clouds and not really hiding behind them, as I struggled to get a good shot with my Nokia 5310 XpressMusic cellphone, I knew the seasons are indeed about to change.

 bonifacio-high-street-00

 

bonifacio-high-street-01

 

bonifacio-high-street-02

Two of my favorite stores - Healthy Options (for mama's favorite chocolates and cookies) and Alessi (for wristwatches!).

 

Hopefully the same could be said about this other “season” – the recession period.

 

A number of posts back, I have harped about being a “recessionista” and how that kind of mindset may very well help someone survive these trying times.  But every time I’m in Bonifacio High Street I couldn’t help but wonder, “Is there really a crisis?  And it doesn’t help to know that in the midst of all the crumbling financial institutions towards the end of 2008, Burberry managed to post a double-digit increase in their sales in the latest financial half year.  So I guess some things are recession-proof after all.  I think luxury – the CONCEPT of luxury – is recession-proof.  But I’m saving all the luxury talk for some other post.

 

So there I was, walking my way towards the Serendra Piazza to get my Monday night fix, my own personal luxury.  Sonja, bright and bubbly in a yellow top, was again in the store.  Before I asked for my Choco Cream Cheese Swirl cupcake with cream cheese frosting and the big Chocolate Madness Milkshake, I just had to ask her if she accepts orders for cakes (the big ones).  I haven’t decided on the variant / flavor yet.  But I told her the concept I had in mind.

 

I’m really excited about this cake (should I end up ordering it).  But while I ran this thought in my head, I sat on the stool by the bar facing the pedestrian traffic outside.  I watched the light disappear into the darkness.  And I felt nothing but contentment – the security of keeping that part of my routine – that I could still manage to do the little things that help take care of myself.

 

And of course I had to get boxes to go!  I had one each for Superman, Spider-man  and the Rizzie!  I made sure their personal favorites were thrown in.

cupcakes_superman-020309

Superman's Box - Banana Monkey Pie (a new one for him to try!), Melt-In-Your-Mouth Valrhona Flourless Chocolate Cake, Bunny Huggers Carrot Cake, Red Velvet Vixen.

cupcakes_spider-man-020309

Spider-man's Box - Just what he specifically requested... 4 Bunny Huggers Carrot Cake Cupcakes! He finishes the frosting first before he goes to the cake. Hehehe. I, too, LOVE Sonja's cream cheese frosting! Photo taken by Spider-man using his own iPhone.

cupcakes_rizzie-021

Rizzie's Box - Lemon Drop, Berry Delight Strawberry Cheesecake, Berries N' Cream, Bunny Huggers Carrot Cake.

 

cupcakes_rizzie-00

That's my good good friend Rizzie with her box of 4 cupcakes!

Actions

Information

3 responses

3 02 2009
stavemichael

i just had the pleasure of visiting boni high once last year.. and after that nothing followed… but to think that it is one of your self pleasures to visit it from time to time.. wow! recessionista tlga. *laughs*

Like

3 02 2009
Crying Freeman

Oh wow! I’ve gotta try these cupcakes. They just look so mouth-watering.

Like

4 02 2009
Jeff

I’m sure those cupcakes are really yummy. I wonder when can I take a bite.

Like

Leave a Reply

