Three things new and exciting in Makati

9 03 2009

JUST WHEN I thought the Makati commercial center – the duo that is Glorietta and Greenbelt complex – has plateaud, I realize I couldn’t be any more wrong.

 

I’ve been meaning to write down here the three things that have lately really aroused my curiosity about Makati.  It’s only now that I got down to it.

 

And surely, with a consumer like me whose curiosity has been piqued – and more importantly, whose feelings lend itself vulnerable to parting with hard-earned funds (only when it feels right!) – retailing stays alive in the midst of (drum roll please…) the recession.

 glorietta5-00

 

 glorietta5-01

 

Right across SM (and Hotel Inter-Continental Manila) is the brand new glorietta 5.  I would consider it to still be on its soft opening stage.  But suffice it to say, just like the other Glorietta “installments” before it, Glorietta 5 is brimming with promise.  And the fact that it is a stand-alone one, a bulding all its own, only means to me that it could take a greater liberty with its store line-up and any other offerings.  The first store alone, the one to the right of the entrance I went in, is Alexis Jewelers.  And through the years, I’ve had great experiences getting timepieces from this store.  I roamed around the premises and I couldn’t help but feel giddy as a kid as I pointed at soon-to-open stores that have already made me swear to keep coming back.  I actually went there to have my regular “Hearty Vegetable Soup” fix at The Soup Kitchen.  Unfortunately, it is one of those soon-to-open stores.  I think there was a show later in that day as people were busy setting up a stage and doing sound checks.

 krispy-kreme-glorietta4-00 

Getting my fix of “HOT KRISPY KREME ORIGINAL GLAZED NOW” used to really feel like a chore.  My options then were very limited.

 

The one in MOA (such a chore to go to!).

The one in Megamall (such a chore to go to!…  but not when I’m meeting up with Batman!).

The one at Bonifacio High Street (okay, not really a chore…  but when I’m there, Cupcakes By Sonja wins!).

 

So I had to thank my lucky stars the very first moment I noticed that KRISPY KREME DOUGHNUTS & COFFEE finally opened a branch in Glorietta 4!  I was so ecstatic that I ended up hoarding boxes upon boxes.  Of course I got one each for Spider-man and Superman!

 royce-superman-gift-bag1

 

And rounding up my trio of new must-go-to places is – of course – ROYCE in Greenbelt 5!  I know such chocoholics who have been rejoicing over this good – no – make that, great news!  And, as I had said in a previous post, ROYCE’ chocolates will make for a really thoughtful gift to any serious foodie you know.  And depending on just how important this person is, one box may not be enough!  Whenever I see the Royce’ store – whenever I go there – I am always reminded of some of my closest friends.  Friendship – because she was the first one to introduce me to Royce’.  Partner – because she has always brought me boxes (and more boxes) of Royce’ whenever she vacations from Singapore.  Spider-man – because eventhough he has cut chocolates from his diet, he is willing to allow a little room for Royce’.  Batman – because I have been meaning to buy him some!  And of course, Superman – because he is such a chocolate lover (though it doesn’t show) and is such a very appreciative person!

 royce-superman-pure-chocolate1 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

