An homage to Superman

20 03 2009

enteng-superman-shirt-00

 

I CAME to work with Five For Fighting’s song “Superman” playing on heavy rotation on my player.  It was just fitting as I intend to end this (work)week with a post about one of my favorite superheroes – yesSuperman.

 

If you’ve been reading my blog, you shall know by now that I refer to at least three of my best friends as superheroes.  As to why, the reasons are as personal as they are varied.  And at least one of my other friends would tease me every now and then that she wish she were one too.  Well, she could very well be as – for the life of me – I love her dearly.  But she is more of a Disney princess.

 

Earlier this week, midway through a one-on-one discussion with one of our senior engineers, someone snapped this shot of me.  And what do you know, I have here a Superman shirt on, quite fitting for this post.  I didn’t buy this shirt.  It came from someone who regularly reads my blog, and thought I’d be delighted to get a Superman shirt.  Well, he thought well.  This shirt is proof positive that the price tags on things are not the be-all and end-all of their worth.

 

Superman could very well be the best superhero there is.  But what exactly is a superhero?  I’ll start with what a hero is.  For me, a hero is someone who is distinguishable through his exceptional courage, daring, and strength.  Whenever needed, we celebrate the boldness of a hero’s exploits.  And to be a “super”hero, someone has got to be more than that – enough for us to confine this notion (of a superhero) to fictional characters.  And they abound.

 

But what I’m really thankful for – and what I have gained deeper realization on – is that when we get the chance to see the real lives of people around us, not only shall we see sorrow and suffering enough to disarm all hostility…  but we shall also see that in every man’s life, he is surrounded by his own superheroes.

 

And they do not even have to possess any of those superhuman powers.  God, no!  The thought of them having X-Ray vision or the ability to read my mind scares the living hell out of me.  Hahaha!  Just the very thought that they are around and very very reachable through all electronic means at my disposal, is comfort, security, and happiness enough.

 

Appropriately, I came across something that actually sums up best how I see Superman.  As Batman himself said in the Superman/Batman comic series, “It is a remarkable dichotomy. In many ways, Clark is the most human of us all. Then…he shoots fire from the skies, and it is difficult not to think of him as a god. And how fortunate we all are that it does not occur to him.”

 

 

Amen to that!  My friend Superman is exactly this way.

 

 

 

Actions

Information

5 responses

20 03 2009
eyes only

nah! i’d go for Bats anytime!

Superman is too “by the book” and he depends on his strength to save the day.

Batman, on the other hand, is bold, cerebral and calculating, and not mention always on the peak of HUMAN physical conditioning.

Take note of ‘HUMAN’, because Superman is not even human. From Kill Bill Vol2 –

“When Superman wakes up in the morning, he’s Superman. His alter ego is Clark Kent. His outfit with the big red “S”, that’s the blanket he was wrapped in as a baby when the Kents found him. Those are his clothes. What Kent wears – the glasses, the business suit – that’s the costume. That’s the costume Superman wears to blend in with us. Clark Kent is how Superman views us. And what are the characteristics of Clark Kent. He’s weak… he’s unsure of himself… he’s a coward. Clark Kent is Superman’s critique on the whole human race. ”

But hey, i’d rather be a nerd than be any superhero! 🙂

Like

20 03 2009
jen

uh-oh! not this superman vs batman superheroes thingy again 😛

i don’t really care who the better super hero is because i know deep down inside, there’s a super hero in me too! or in greg behrendt’s lingo, a super fox! 🙂

Like

23 03 2009
eyes only

mukhang na-hurt si bossing enteng sa mga sinabi ko tungkol kay Supes (the superhero and not his friend 🙂 ) so I’m ‘disavowing’ lahat yun 🙂

Instead, I’d rather be a Chuck, a Sheldon, a Leonard or even a Howard…when you’re a geek/nerd, you’ll have your own Penny or Sarah in the end 🙂

Comics and graphic novels show that superheroes don’t have happy endings – they either die a hero or they live long enough to become the villains themselves…

Like

23 03 2009
jen

smart is the new sexy! 🙂

my vote goes to sheldon..he’s just sooo ADORABLE! 😉

Like

23 03 2009
entengvince

Hmmm… I still maintain that it is still Superman for me…

Like

Leave a Reply

