The Soup Kitchen in Glorietta 5

9 04 2009
the-soup-kitchen-01-resized

The very nice interiors of The Soup Kitchen at its new home in the new Glorietta 5.

 

ONE REASON I have kept coming back to the newly opened Glorietta 5 is because I have been craving for my favorite soup from – wherelse?! – The Soup Kitchen.  The first time I was there, the first level security guard politely told me that it (The Soup Kitchen) was still closed.  I took a moment’s pause as I gathered back my composure that got shaken by the unequivocal conviction with which he told me, “Sir, still closed.  Second level po yun.  Dun!”  Borrowing the signature pouting of a very Zoolander male model, he punctuated his sentence with the pursing of his lips towards the direction of panels of wood and tarpaulin that said something like “soon to open…”  I sort of got amused with this seemingly crafty (in a good way) guard that I quizzed him to no end about the many stores.  Pleasantly surprising, he knew everything about this new shopping and dining hub that is Glorietta 5.  So, mad props to the guy!

 

Returning a couple of weeks later, on the evening of the 9th of March, I found myself finally comfortably seated at the well-appointed The Soup Kitchen.  First thing that jumped right off to me was how much more spacious and better lit this new outlet was, compared to its Glorietta 1 predecessor.  I instantly took a mental note that I would definitely keep coming back to The Soup Kitchen to take my early evening light dinners when I do my weekly “special” Monday night grocery shopping.

the-soup-kitchen-00-resized

My favorite Hearty Vegetable Soup... and yes, the Pepper Mill!

 

Unike other patrons who request to sample each and every soup offering at the store (which the staff politely and so graciously offer), I’ve stuck to just one – the Hearty Vegetable – which to me was more like their own version of the classic Minestrone.  Minestrone, after all, is soup made from a variety of vegetables, with lots of tomatoes and flavored with generous dashes of Italian seasoning (think rosemary, thyme, basil, etc.).  I love how they make their Hearty Vegetable Soup.  They always serve it piping hot (not quite but almost boiling!).  And it has always been chockful with chunks of fresh vegetables – cubes of golden potatoes, diced tomatoes, Spanish onions, and celery stalks.  As I would always like my soup “hot and spicy,” I asked for ground (white) pepper.  The staff went a notch higher by offering me the pepper mill instead!  Now that was something!  You see, one thing I like about cooking is the chance to freshly crack pepper over my dish.  There’s something about cranking the head of a pepper mill that feels chef-like to me.  The sight of a dusting of pepper that just got crushed through the mill, on the surface of my soup, fills my soul.  Weird?!  To accompany my soup, quite overkill, I would always ask for a cup of their really Hot Chocolate for my drink!

the-soup-kitchen-02-hot-choco-resized

Obviously, this is The Soup Kitchen's Hot Chocolate. Frothy!

 

I usually ask for my soup to come with warmed Cheese Bread (more like a semolina bun!).  But that night, for the first time, I asked for half of their Crabstick Sandwich.  And was I in for a pleasant surprise!  I devoured the sandwich and struggled if I would ask for another half (bummer that I asked for just half!).  Hahaha!  The grainy wheat bread was moist and preserved well by the saran wrap.  The mangoes were fresh, soft and sweet, providing the perfect counterpoint to the mayonnaise (taste-wise) and the sole crisp lettuce leaf (texture-wise).  But the star of the sandwich was the crabstick!  And I know my crabstick.  I would even buy frozen packs for when I feel like making myself my own “kani” sashimi or sushi at home.  The ones The Soup Kitchen used were topnotch.  The flakiness was as close to real crab meat as crabsticks could get.  The red stain was not off-putting.  And most importantly, the flavor was just how a tub of freshly picked Maine crabmeat would taste – sweet with the slightest hint of saltwater.

the-soup-kitchen-03-crabstick-sandwich-resized

The Soup Kitchen's Crabstick Sandwich (half). Worth coming back for!

 

the-soup-kitchen-04-crabstick-sandwich-resized

Doesn't this crabstick sandwich want you to just lick it?

 

the-soup-kitchen-05-crabstick-sandwich-resized

...and bite it?!

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 09 2010
u8mypinkcookies

wow the soup looks yummy. i like soup kitchen too but i’d always go for the chili soup with wheat bread! their sandwiches, i don’t order that often since i don’t like mayonnaise.

Like

17 01 2011
rairaiken

I haven’t tried the new Soup Kitchen at Glorietta 5 and I was sad that it was already closed before I got to visit the place. The last time I ate their when it was still in the old location in Glorietta, their soup was really great and creamy…

Like

Leave a Reply

