In Heat

1 07 2009

CLIMATE CHANGE really sucks!  After the unforgiving, unrelenting, torrential rains, it’s the “heatwave” – unbearable as of the other night – that we need to come to terms with.

Coffee California Heath Frappe 01

Coffee California's California Heath Frappe

So how is a mere mortal like me trying to cope up?  I changed one thing about my eating habits – I stopped having steaming hot coffee and have since moved to it’s ice-blended kin.

My friends know that every single meal I have is washed down not by water – not even by that carbonated mineral water produced and bottled somewhere in Lombardo, Italy – but by coffee.  And I’m very easy when it comes to my coffee as Nescafé 3-in-1 (coffee, sugar, cream) has always done it for me.

That was until the cafeteria in the office has somehow subjected their coffee supply to their sporadic whims.  What’s a caffeine-dependent to do?  Turn to the next supplier of course.  It didn’t matter anymore that I would have to fork out at least fifty pesos every single time I’d need coffee.  I had to have the fix and I had to have it good.

And that’s when I came to know Coffee Califonia’s California Heath Frappe. It’s a velvety smooth ice-blended drink concocted with freshly brewed coffee, chocolate, fresh whole milk, and chocolate syrup, spiked with a splash of Torani liqueur – usually hazelnut.  The day they ran out of hazelnut, I asked that they use banana instead.

And with one sip, not only did it quench my thirst and moistened my parched lips, it sort of reminded me of my favorite Royce’ seasonal nama chocolate (banana).  Not bad for sixty five pesos!

Coffee California Heath Frappe 00

My friend Stave Michael took the photos, using his Nokia N73 camera phone with a Carl Zeiss lens.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

