Way up on the 103rd

4 07 2009

I LOVE the feel of paper in between my fingertips.  And it goes without saying that I love the feel of newspaper, also in between my fingertips.

Sears Tower - Inquirer Headline 01

I read both the Philippine Star and the Philippine Daily Inquirer. Here are their July 3, 2009 editions.

Reading the day’s papers – both the Philippine Star and the Philippine Daily Inquirer – has been one of the first things I do upon coming home from a day’s work.  I think this will come as a surprise to most, especially with how easy and convenient it is to get the latest breaking news with a click of one’s fingertips.  But as I have said, I love the feel of the actual paper in my hands.  I just don’t forget to wash my hands thoroughly before I move on to my next tasks – as the residual ink from the print sticks and worse, transfers to anything you hold afterwards.  I remember a number of times when I inadvertently went to bed with the papers and woke up the following day with the previous day’s headlines squeegeed onto my cheeks.

Much thanks to yesterday’s Inquirer – not the online version, the actual paper! – I learned about a breathtaking innovative development to the Sears Tower in Chicago.  Still the United States’ tallest building, the Sears Tower holds a special place in my heart.  I spent one of my Christmas mornings there, way up on its Skydeck on the 103rd floor.

Sears Tower - Inquirer Headline 00

Another look at the "headline"... That kid is so brave!

Says the Inquirer’s banner photo, “”THE VIEW   New glass balconies are the innovative additions to the United States’ tallest building, Sears Tower in Chicago.  Suspended 1,353 feet up in the air and jutting out four feet from the Tower’s 103rd floor Skydeck, “The Ledge,” as it is called is now open to the public as of today.  If (eNTeNG – should be “it”) offers the world’s most awesome view, the world’s most precipitous view, the view with the most wow in the world, rhapsodizes one of its owners.”

I couldn’t agree more.  For purely sentimental reasons, here are some photos from that Christmas morning – from way up on the 103rd… and then some.

Sears Tower - In front of Sears Tower

Right in front of Sears Tower on Christmas morning

 

Sears Tower - By the Sears Tower Skydeck Sign

By the Sears Tower Skydeck sign

 

Sears Tower - Floor 103

The Sears Tower Skydeck is on the 103rd floor!

 

Sears Tower - Looking North from the Sears Tower Skydeck

Looking north, this is the breathtaking view that you would see from the Sears Tower Skydeck

 

Sears Tower - View the world from the Sears Tower Skydeck

View the world from the Sears Tower Skydeck!

 

Sears Tower - Sears Tower Skydeck

This sign greets you on the 103rd floor

 

Sears Tower - Chicago 101

Chicago 101

 

Sears Tower - Michael Jordan Sears Tower

Part of the wall on the Skydeck is dedicated to the great Michael Jordan and the Chicago Bulls

 

Sears Tower - By the NBC News Truck

There's nothing like taking a city by foot. Here, I just had to have my photo taken by the NBC News Team's truck!

 

Sears Tower - In front of the Chicago Sun-Times

In front of the Chicago Sun-Times

 

Sears Tower - In front of the Chicago Tribune

In front of the Chicago Tribune

 

Sears Tower - In front of the United Center

In front of United Center, the home of the Chicago Bulls!

 

Sears Tower - On Michigan Avenue, the Magnificent Mile

On Michigan Avenue, dubbed "the Magnificent Mile"... the tower right behind me is the John Hancock Center.

 

Sears Tower - Sears and Jin Mao Towers

I didn't take this photo in Chicago. I took this one in Shanghai, on the wall leading to the viewing deck of Jin Mao Tower on its top floor, the 88th floor! Jin Mao Tower is on the right of the photo, with Sears Tower right next to it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

