I dream of lobsters

7 07 2009

I WAS born under the fourth sign of the zodiac.  But it doesn’t really dictate my love for anything crustacean.  Fresh, live crabs are just really so delicious that it doesn’t really matter which constellation the sun was shining from when I was born.

India - Lobster 00

Grilled to perfection – one of our lobsters, by the shore of the Arabian Sea.

And for 10 days in India, I have come to deeply appreciate just how luxurious the taste of these crustaceans could be – lobsters in particular.  And since here at home, having lobsters for dinner could really burn a huge hole in anybody’s pockets, I made sure that when I was there – in Bangalore, in Goa, and then in Mumbai – I would have lobster at least once a day.  I guess I made it with at least seven out of the 10 dinners!  And surprisingly, my body was able to handle all the surge of cholesterol that kept coming in!

Here are a couple of lobster dinner pictures I’d like to share with you.  They are a couple of the very few photographs that had managed to survive the great crash of the hard disk drive in January this year.  I lost so much of my memories with that infamous event that my heart is still broken as I write this.

I wasn’t blogging yet when this India trip came about.  But the “ambisyoso” writer that I am (Hahaha!), I did account for my experience, and some of them, I managed to send out to my friends all over the world from within the comforts of my luxurious (there’s that word again) hotel rooms – The Park in Bangalore, The Hotel Inter-Continental in Goa, and The Leela Kempinski in Mumbai.  India is just so amazing in this respect – the cutting-edge, modern comforts are juxtaposed with the simple, idyllic life.  I shared the streets with the cows.  And in deference to the culture and the beliefs, I gave them the respect they deserve.

A couple of those lobster dinners remain etched in my mind.  And a funny thing happened with the Lobster Thermidor.  Being the “sometimes” high maintenance dinner guest that I am, I made a very detailed, elaborate description to the hotel chef on how I wanted my thermidor.  He was nodding the whole time, and even reiterated some of my key words – so I thought everything was in order.  Horror of horrors, when he came back gliding as if performing ballet, he got the whole thing mixed up!  Stuffed inside the exoskeleton of my lobster’s tail was steamed rice, stained with some herb – I surmised finely chopped flat leaf Italian parsley.

India - Lobster 02

Me and my lobster thermidor at the Hotel Inter-Continental in Goa, India.

But I didn’t fret.  I didn’t send the dish back because the way the plump lobster meat looked in the ramekin was just oh so tempting.  Nestled in rich cream, cheese, and an egg yolk sauce was my thermidor.  The top was even torched for that burnt-melted-cheese topping effect.  Suffice it to say, the dish was scrumptious.  And the chef – partly owning up to the “mix up” of my specifications – graciously sent out an extra helping of the perfumed, stained herb rice.  I fell in love.

India - Lobster 01

Me and my grilled lobster by the shore of the Arabian Sea in Goa, India.

Apart from the unforgettable Lobster Thermidor at the Hotel Inter-Continental and the Grilled Lobster by the shore of the Arabian Sea in Goa, I will never forget my visits to the Basilica De Bom Jesus, a World Heritage Site, as well as that at Fort Aguada.  The Basilica is world famous for housing the mortal remains of Saint Francis Xavier.  Fort Aguada has been well-preserved and was prized and crucial for its role in guarding the port of Goa against the Dutch in the 17th century.

I miss India!

India - Archeological Survey of India 00

Right across the Basilica De Bom Jesus is the Archeological Survey of India

 

India - Basilica De Bom Jesus 01

Basilica De Bom Jesus in Goa, India is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It houses the mortal remains (relics) of Saint Francis Xavier.

 

India - Basilica De Bom Jesus 00

That's me in front of the Basilica.

 

India - Goa Walled City 00

That's the Fort Aguada Lighthouse.

Actions

Information

One response

7 07 2009
Chax

good pictures! with great memories im sure!

Like

Leave a Reply

