Notes from a time traveling day

1 09 2009

AND I thought Sheldon was just being impossibly difficult.

That and the fact that he – Sheldon of the hit TV series “The Big Bang Theory” – was most probably just given the really juicy, overly descriptive lines befitting the really smart guy that he is.

With much frustration, Sheldon says, “This sandwich is an unmitigated disaster.  I asked for turkey and roast beef with lettuce and swiss on whole wheat.”  “What did they give you?” asks Raj.  “Turkey and roast beef with swiss and lettuce on whole wheat,” Sheldon explicitly describes and continues, “It’s the right ingredients but in the wrong order.  In a proper sandwich, the cheese is adjacent to the bread to create a moisture barrier against the lettuce.  They might as well drag this thing to a carwash.”  Leonard protests, “I don’t believe it!”  And Sheldon couldn’t help but agree, “I know!  It’s basic culinary science.”

That was exactly how I felt with the sandwich that I had in my hands while watching “The Time Traveler’s Wife” last Friday.  Starbucks Coffee Company® calls it (something like) their Chicken and Ham with Gruyere in Turkish Bread.  Sounded fancy.  Sounded yummy.  And sounded like a good enough alternative to my usual Hungarian Sausage with Eggwhite and Cheese in Ciabatta which was already sold out at the time.

The premise of the sandwich was actually great.  It was the gruyere that got me.  I love love love gruyere cheese, one of the two cheeses in my macaroni and cheese recipe.  Now slap that together with chicken and ham, all together in a visually appealing black-and-white-sesame-seed studded crusty bun and I guess I’d have a winner right there!

But with my first bite – as the opening credits of the movie started rolling – Sheldon’s predicament came to mind.  While on its own the flattened chicken fillet in the middle of my sandwich was really moist and flavorful – redolent with smoky hints of cumin – the rest was a disaster.  The worst was the absence of that “moisture barrier” that left the bottom of my sandwich badly soaked in extra virgin olive oil and the tomato-based dressing.

I ended up just sipping – really slowly, as if rationing out to my own self a really scarce commodity! – my Mocha Frappucino with Raspberry Syrup.  I’d usually get this in the Dark Mocha variant.  But sadly, that too was unavailable.

Too bad Pepper Lunch was packed full when I stopped by.  Oh well, it wasn’t my day.  At least the movie saved it from being a total bore.

Actions

Information

One response

3 09 2009
Harry Stamper

Baka naman next time magreklamo ka na din na you’re getting orange chicken instead of tangerine chicken! lol! =P

Like

Leave a Reply

