Prawns sarciado

7 09 2009

I HAD the chance to indulge myself – yet again – in my unbridled love for lycopene by way of tomatoes.  I guess I could very well be the unblushing apologist for everything these vine-ripened herbaceous fruits stand for.

 

Roma Tomatoes for Prawn Sarciado

Tomatoes I blanched, peeled, seeded (almost!), and chopped myself!

So naturally, any chance I get to whip up something tomato-based, I grab without second thoughts – not even a jiff’s consideration for the tedious process of blanching, peeling, seeding, and chopping the tomatoes on my own.

Last week, I found at home a gift of about three kilograms’ worth of freshwater prawns that couldn’t help but tickle my fancy.  For a fleeting moment, I toyed with the idea of shrimp scampi over al dente angel hair.  But surprisingly, for all the “fancy” ideas that found their roundabout routes within my head, I ended up making a huge batch of my prawn sarciado.  Simply, it’s prawn with tomato sauce.  And when dishes call for tomato sauce, my first option would always be to make it fresh.

For this dish, it’s just as simple as sauteing minced large garlic cloves, a diced large white onion, and lots of the tomatoes that I – repeat after me – blanched, peeled, seeded and chopped.  For a little twist, I’d usually splash a little soy sauce in once the tomatoes had broken down.

This goes well with lots of steamed white rice.

Prawn Sarciado 00

Look just how huge these prawns are!

 

Prawn Sarciado 01

I didn't go through the hassle of deveining each and every prawn anymore. Besides, it's not a restaurant presentation. And the prawns didn't have the really black, gritty veins running through their them anyway.

 

Prawn Sarciado 02

The prawns make a pretty sight on my Crown Ming Fine China dinner plate.

 

Prawn Sarciado 03

Just one final close shot!... I love this dish. My friends would like it when I'd cook this for them when we were assigned in the States.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

