And I thought I knew what it meant to be a success

18 09 2009

I KNEW Batman got me in trouble when he decided to gift me with a book.  I cracked it open in the evening and before I knew it, I had finished just when the sun’s rays had pierced through the morning cloud.

Shangri-La 091409 - Pepper Lunch 15 Gift from Batman

Devoured in one sitting – Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcolm Gladwell

Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone.  The Da Vinci Code.  Star.  The Runaway Jury.  Jurassic Park.  The Third Wave.  Tuesdays with Morrie.  Skipping Christmas.  The King of Torts.  The Alchemist.  The Greatest Salesman in the World.  These are the books I devoured in just one sitting – literally from dusk till dawn.

Oh, and count in all the Nancy Drew, The Hardy Boys, and Bobbsey Twins on the shelves of the Mapúa Pre-Engineering Technological High School library.  I read each of those in just one sitting – every single time.

And now, Outliers:  The Story of Success by Malcolm Gladwell, the book that Batman surprised me with when we had our Pepper Lunch dinner last Monday night, is added to this list.

I have to admit that Outliers brought to the surface a lot of my own views about success that have – quite apparently – remained deep-seated in some compartment in my brain…  way at the back where they don’t get called out often enough.

And I thought a lot of one’s success highly depends – hinges – on one’s individual merits.

Oh, I so love the chapter on plane crashes (I’m still so afraid to fly)!  So, to get a good look at what led to actual plane crashes is such an eye-opener.  I cringe and want to go back in time to undo them.

And because of this book, I’m now more convinced about my choice for the 2010 presidential elections.

Thanks, Batman!  I’m so looking forward to the next book you are going to make me read!  But bear in mind, I wouldn’t mind to be surprised too with one of those wristwatches we checked out at Rafael’s.  Hahaha!

More on my current book selections on next posts.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

