Food for thought and tummy

21 09 2009

BLAME IT on Batman’s recommendation Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcolm Gladwell.  The reading bug has bit me again.  And real hard this time.

Batman’s got another recommendation for me.  This one’s called Deluxe: How Luxury Lost Its Luster by Dana Thomas.  We didn’t see a copy though when we checked out Powerbooks Shangri-La Plaza Mall the last time.

Book Selection Note 00

I take down notes on my journal to put a plan in place. This time, read these books!

Friendship is another friend who just made a pitch for one book that has taken her fancy.  I suspect it to run along the same lines as Batman’s based solely on the title – Bringing Home The Birkin by Michael Tonello.

I took them down on my journal.  I’m sure to hunt for them the next time I’m in thebookstore.  While I don’t have them yet, I’m raiding my years-long stock.  For tonight, I pulled out a decades-old novel, John Grisham’s The Street Lawyer.

Before I hit the sack, I raided the refrigerator for some munchies.  That’s when I remembered that my brother brought home for me a large serving of deep-fried jumbo shrimp and french fries from Burgoo.  I don’t know exactly how the dish is called – Surf ‘n Fries?  But I do expect to be overwhelmed by oleaginous seafood as the shrimps were obviously dipped in batter before being deep-fried.

Burgoo Jumbo Shrimp & Fries 00

Burgoo Jumbo Shrimp & Fries

The coating is very light and airy even after being nuked in the microwave for about eight seconds.  It’s the first thing I’m nibbling on and I’m getting a slathering of grease on my lips.  But it’s not overwhelmingly oily.  Just a tad.  For take-out, the jumbo shrimps have surprisinly remained tender.  I half-expected to end up fighting with really rubbery seafood.  It’s good to be proven wrong sometimes.  The french fries of course are as french fries could get.

Burgoo Jumbo Shrimp & Fries 01

More of the fries this time.

I’m licking my fingers free of the intoxicating oil as I use my other hand to flip open John Grisham.

Burgoo Jumbo Shrimp & Fries 02

Jumbo shrimps all in a row!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

