Fully booked

26 10 2009
Fully Booked 00

Books I intend to read again. I got all these second hand, except for "A Beautiful Mind" by Sylvia Nasar which I got at Borders.

MERRIAM-WEBSTER – the dictionary you hold in your hands, not today’s online incarnation – got me started to reading.  I mean really read.  Not recite the alphabet or count to ten.  That had already been taken care of by the time I realized I could bury myself deep in thought – with full concentration – in a book.  (By virtue of being a physical object consisting of a number of pages bound together, a dictionary is a book.)  This Merriam-Webster I’m referring to was my grandmother’s.  It was a very old copy and by that time in the 80’s when I would sit at the dining table going through it word through word, the spine had already given way.

I miss having all the time in the world to lose myself in a book, totally unmindful of the hours.  But there just seems to be not enough time lately.  I would keep on failing “finding” the time.  Then it occurred to me that the reason why I couldn’t find it was because I needed to “create” it in the first place.  So I’ve resolved to “make” the time – against “find” the time – to read.  Again.

Over the very very busy weekend, I went through my books and picked out some that I will read again.  Like the ones on the photo here, I got most of my beloved books at weekend community book sales in the States – save for “A Beautiful Mind” by Sylvia Nasar which I got at full price at Borders.  The screen play of “The English Patient” is one of two I have (the other being “Shakespeare In Love”).  I haven’t read quite that many autobiographical work but I’ll go out on a limb to say that Katharine Graham’s “Personal History” could be one of the best.

Fully Booked 01

That doorstopper of a book – "Personal History" – is the autobiography of Katharine Graham, the heiress to the Washington Post fortune.

The first step I’m taking is get these books out of one of the small cabinets I have, stack them on one of the shelves of my study table, and hopefully reach out for them and read.

 

Copyright © 2009 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MuchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

