Excellent read from the magazine rack

9 11 2009
Town&Country - Cory's Girls 00

Top of the heap! "Cory's Girls" – all grown and accomplished women now – grace the cover of the November 2009 issue of Town&Country Philippine edition.

THE NOVEMBER issue of Town&Country Philippine edition is a casting coup!  It was Friendship who actually first clued me in that this was going to happen – all of the late former President Cory Aquino’s four daughters on the cover!

Ms. Lorna Kalaw-Tirol’s cover story – “Lessons from Mom” – was a nice read it kept me up at 1:10 AM (and I start work at 7:00 AM sharp!).  I loved how she started with a narrative of how the photoshoot with the beloved Aquino sisters turned out to be.  Through her eyes I could see how the three publicity-shy daughters of Mrs. Aquino metamorphosed to the elegant cover ladies they are, together with their “baby”, Ms. Kris Aquino-Yap.  The best part?  All the sharing Ms. Kalaw-Tirol captured in succinct but vivid detail.  “Their mother taught them not with words, but by the power of example – her own.”

The other reason I had to have this copy bought for me was what the cover says, “Teddy Boy Locsin on Working with Cory.”  You should know by now just how much I look up to Mr. Locsin – both as a newspaperman/publisher and as a speechwriter.  I first wrote about him here.

Town&Country - Like a Place in the Country 00

"Like a Place in the Country" – a fond recollection of times with Mrs. Aquino, by my favorite Mr. Teodoro "Teddy Boy" L. Locsin, Jr..

In his essay, “Like a Place in the Country,” Mr. Teodoro “Teddy Boy” L. Locsin, Jr. allowed me a glimpse – no, a deeper realization and understanding – of the kind of president the late Mrs. Aquino was.

In his opening line, “I was young then and woke up late,” I couldn’t help but manage a chuckle.  Why?  Because as has always been the case with him, I felt that he was speaking to my generation, making me feel that it wasn’t wrong to go through that part when you’d stay up so late into the night and start the next day equally – if not more so – late.  But like the wise man that he is, Mr. Locsin spoke about the wisdom of realizing that you are in someone’s service and if needed, you have to change: “That was how she was, at least with me.  Never a commanding voice or a stern word, only the quiet expectation she would never be disappointed:  one look and I knew I had overstepped.”  I guess this could be one of those instances about being ennobled in the presence of Mrs. Aquino, as he claimed in his eulogy.

As any reference to food never escapes me, I find myself totally engrossed with an anecdote that showed Mrs. Aquino’s brand of thoughtfulness and generosity by way of a fresh box of chocolates.

But the best part of Mr. Locsin’s fond recollection of his days working for and with Mrs. Aquino has to be his short – yet profound and truthful – response to any criticism about the latter’s administration’s shortcomings.  I totally agree with what Mr. Locsin said.  I actually have known for the longest time I felt the same way.  But it took our country’s foremost speechwriter’s words to make my feelings take form, evoking images of a place and time when greatness was determined by the purity of one’s heart, the diligence in one’s work, and the sincerity of one’s intentions – both in the smallest and the grandest of one’s deeds.

The November 2009 issue of Town&Country Philippine edition is now available at bookstores.

Copyright © 2009 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MuchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

