Long life chicken

16 11 2009
Long life chicken 00

A good broth starts with the freshest meat. Here's the meaty, plump and juicy Magnolia fresh dressed chicken I used! I'm an expert at cutting a whole chicken up in serving pieces!

WHILE ANYTHING brothy has come to mean comforting, or even restorative, the reason why I made this noodle dish was to cap off eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MuchTime™©’s  first anniversary.

And while it was exactly just the humble, unassuming “chicken mami,” I decided to officially christen it “long life chicken.”  It’s my shameless play on words, inspired by the “long life prawn” dish served by a top Chinese restaurant.  The thin shrimp-egg noodles I got from Makati Supermart (Alabang) account for wishes of a long life – for this blog, that is.

Long life chicken 01 noodles

Shrimp-egg noodles. This was the first time I tried this (not really familiar with the brand) and I absolutely LOVED it! I'll definitely be back for more.

I started by making the broth, using the really plump and juicy Magnolia fresh dressed chicken you see on the photo.  Long before I had come to be aware of Chef Gordon Ramsay’s, Chef Tyler Florence’s, or Chef Jessie Sinsioco’s recipe for chicken broth, I have long been making mine with the same requisite ingredients – miropaux, turnips, the other root vegetables, the herbs.  The resulting broth serves as the perfect base for dishes like my signature chicken macaroni soup (simply, “sopas”), and chicken tinola.  For use in this “long life chicken” chicken mami, I did away with the herbs as I needed a base that would be more Chinese than westernized.

Once the meat was tender and the broth had achieved the flavor I desire, I took the chicken out and flaked it.  I passed the broth through a fine sieve – twice over.  As I would serve this really hot, I kept the broth simmering on low-to-medium fire, waiting to be brought back to a raging boil once everything was ready.

I usually use the fresh noodles I would get from Maxim’s Tea House.  But this bag of thin shrimp-egg noodles just looked so delicious.  I followed the package directions strictly, keeping the cooking time at exactly two minutes.  As is always the case with the fresh noodles, I didn’t leave this one boiling away in the water.  Instead, I put each clump of noodles in a stainless steel strainer placed in a deep pot of boiling water (on a high flame, of course).  Using chopsticks, I stirred constantly until they were the right doneness (took exactly the two minutes the directions said).  I drained the noodles and they were ready!  My brother saw me preparing one serving and told me I could get a job at an Ongpin restaurant.

Long life chicken 02 pot dish

How one portion looked like, served in an all-stainless steel Tools Of The Trade™ one-quart pot.

Using all-stainless steel Tools Of The Trade™ one-quart pots as individual serving dishes, I put together the noodles, the chicken meat, napa cabbage, and chopped spring onions, topping everything with generous ladles of the boiling broth.

Long life chicken 03 pot dish

Now this was how my own serving portion looked like. Hahaha!

Comfort and celebration in a stainless steel pot!

 

Copyright © 2009 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MuchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

One response

17 11 2009
Chax

Long live Munch Time!
Happy 1st year anniverysary to your blog!
Congratulaaaaaaaations!

Like

Leave a Reply

