Meaningful five

2 12 2009

FIVE HAS always been a special number to me.  All the time I was in school, I was always – ALWAYS – seat number five, arranged alphabetically by surname.  And my nickname begins with the fifth letter of the alphabet.

The number has again managed to reveal its meaning to me when I realized that there are that many wristwatches that have come to mean much in the course of the past year.  And before 2009 comes to an end, I thought it’d be nice to look back.

Tag Heuer Aquaracer

Tag Heuer Aquaracer in all stainless steel with a brushed silver dial.  The thing about Tag Heuer is that it is really strong, they being proud about carving each wristwatch from a solid block of stainless steel.  To be given something like this could only mean strength.

The one on the upper right corner is the Raj by Karim Rashid for Alessi.

Raj by Karim Rashid for Alessi in black.  This is one of the time pieces Alessi created in partnership with the foremost names in innovative and cutting edge (interior) design.  The stark simplicity of this wristwatch is what I find really attractive – arrestingly so.  I think only someone with an equally commanding presence could strap this on their wrist.

ToyWatch chronograph, as featured on the last page of US Men’s Vogue magazine.  This wristwatch got major backing when Oprah put it on her Christmas Favorite Things list.  But what I love most about it – aside from its ingenious use of plastic and other lightweight materials – is the fact that it comes from Chicago, one of my most beloved cities in the whole wide world.

Philip Stein Teslar Signature dual time zone wristwatch in black dial with gunmetal steel face.

Philip Stein Teslar Signature dual time zone wristwatch in black dial with gunmetal steel face.  Another wristwatch that got the blessing of the Oprah.  But for me, what I love about this is the fact that it is the perfect gift for someone who doesn’t really drool over something that it thought of as trendy or “in the moment” but may give something that has health and fitness benefits a consideration.

Philip Stein Teslar Signature dual time zone wristwatch in white dial with white face.

Philip Stein Teslar Signature dual time zone wristwatch in white dial with white face.  This is the one I’m wearing right now.  And this early, I can vouch for its purported benefits!  It’s a great plus that everytime I glance at it to check the time, I get reminded of someone.

Copyright © 2009 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MuchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

