After Otis

1 02 2010

Starbucks® Coffee Company's Old-Fashioned Oatmeal Cookie (natural light is piercing through two layers of paper – the brown paper bag, and the while parchment paper lining.)

I THOUGHT there wasn’t any life after Otis Spunkmeyer.  I’ve had it so good with Otis that I just became so jaded towards just about every other oatmeal cookie out there.

But on one very late night at one of my favorite Starbucks Coffee Company outlets, I realized I had been giving Starbucks’ Old-Fashioned Oatmeal Cookie a longing, wondering stare when the bubbly twangy barista had to stoop from the display counter to meet me at eye level and emphatically say, “May I get your order, Sir?”

This cookie was worth the longing, wondering stare.

The order just rolled out from my tongue – sugar-free Vanilla Frap with very little whipped cream, venti; hot Caramel Machiatto, grande; searing hot Drip Coffee with room for milk, short; Dark Mocha Frap, no whipped cream, grande; and, Hungarian Sausage with Egg and Cheese in ciabatta, warmed, cut in half and bagged separately.  Just when the comely barista finished repeating my order, I politely raised the volume of my voice just enough to quip, “And I think I’ll try one of your oatmeal cookies.”

I has to stop from breaking off pieces from this luxuriously good cookie to be able to snap this shot. That cookie sure is thick!

Back in the car, I excitedly tore off a piece from the cookie and proceeded to carefully chew – I wanted to savor if it was as good or as “old-fashioned” as it claimed to be.  By the time I was breaking the third chunk, we had already turned around because I decided to go back to get the other three that remained on display!

Simply one of the best oatmeal cookies ever!

Starbucks’ oatmeal cookie is exactly what old-fashioned goodness is.  It’s slightly tart and yet sweet.  It’s huge, thick, while at the same time soft and chewy.  And the best part?  It’s the texture the rolled oats give the cookie, perfect with all the raisins that generously dot each piece.  Nowadays, I could easily finish five of these while I read a book.  I haven’t sworn off Otis entirely.  But in its place, Starbucks does a fine job satiating me.

They say life is what happens when you’re busy making plans.  I will say life is what happens – life made sweet by oatmeal cookies – while you wait in line at Starbucks.

Copyright © 2010 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MuchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

