Sin – but with good chocolate cakes

3 02 2010

Halfway through the tempting Conti’s® Chocolate Cake

LOOKING BACK, I think I developed my good-natured tolerance of delays or having to wait, by way of pastry.

A slice of Conti’s® Chocolate Cake

I remember that as a kid, I would stand patiently by one of the display counters at our neighborhood’s bakeshop.  Patiently, as I had to keep watch over the chocolate cake roll.  I would steal glances at it until all that was left would be the last slice – the one at the end.  The one smothered with real good icing.  At the right moment, I would turn around and pounce – literally snatching the coveted slice off of the next would-be customer’s hands.  Then I’d be walking back home a really happy boy.

I guess that defines for me one of the things I love about really good chocolate cake – the icing.  No, enough good icing.  The icing around the circumferential edges of a slice wasn’t enough for me.  I wanted at least one side of it to be smothered too.  And for me, that requirement of a good chocolate cake hasn’t changed till now.

However clichéd it may sound, a chocolate cake has to be moist too.  I have to warn with the “clichéd” disclaimer as someone who reads my blog blurted out over lunch one time, “You always just say it’s moist and you like it already.”

Oh well, how else should I say it?  When I look for a consistent, dense crumb while at the same time expecting not to chew on something that feels like cardboard or anything days-old, all I’m looking for is enough moisture.  Besides, I’ve eaten enough chocolate cake in my life to know if one’s good.  In one of our Christmases, a first cousin brought a chocolate cake that was the faithful reproduction of the recipe at the back of a Hershey’s cocoa powder tin can.  It had collapsed on the drive over – but the appearance didn’t take away from the fact that it was so damn good.

Recently, I’ve become a fan of two chocolate cakes that embody the best qualities I seek.  One is from Conti’s® and the other is from Starbucks®.  They are moist and are generously slathered with good boiled icing.  The fillings in between the cake layers are a plus too.  They’re so good that on New Year’s Day, when offered a whole cake instead of just the slice I asked the barista for, I snapped it up.

A slice of Starbucks® Chocolate Cake

A tight shot of the consistent, dense, moist crumb.

But if there’s one thing that can be said about these two, it is that they can be easily had.  And unless what you’re looking for is a lifelong partner, settling for something that can be found easily – even in the dead of the night – doesn’t mean compromising on your standards.

Copyright © 2010 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 04 2010
Cherisse

Enjoying reading your blog. If you’re really into chocolate cake there’s a small cake store (i don’t know if that’s what you call it) right beside the church in Phase I in BF Paranaque. I think the church is called Resurrection and the store is called Ceilin’s. Their chocolate cake is really sinful and moist. Plus it’s most affordable.

Like

2 09 2010
u8mypinkcookies

im addicted to cakes, exp. choco ones!

Like

Leave a Reply

