Glorious dessert forks

11 02 2010

A couple of lovely dessert forks from Gourdo's conjure up images of one of the best movies I've ever seen.

OF THE many compelling, cringe-inducing scenes that stalked my consciousness and crept into the deepest recesses of my mind while watching Quentin Tarantino’s chef-d’oeuvre of a work called “Inglourious Basterds,” the one that has managed to secure storage in my neurons – the ones that don’t seem to be getting fried soon – actually involved one of the quieter moments in the film’s two-and-a-half-hour runtime.

Sitting across each other at a restaurant’s dining table, Col. Hans Landa (Christoph Waltz), the ingloriously notorious “Jew Hunter,” ordered two strudels for himself and Mademoiselle Emmanuelle Mimieux (Mélanie Laurent).  The camera and the lighting captured the images of the pastries in their best light, the tight shots of which attempted to downplay the palpable tension between the two characters – especially since the mademoiselle was actually an assumed new identity of a previously hunted Jew named Shosanna Dreyfus.  I’ve never felt as much suspense and heavy breathing watching two people devour dessert.

Breathless in anticipation, I heard myself exhale when the colonel kept himself from piercing the strudel with his dessert fork when he realized that the whipped cream he ordered hadn’t been served yet.  The waiter came in and, with the camera again transfixed on to the edible item on the frame, he topped each strudel with a generous dollop that made a tempting sloshing sound.

I couldn’t place my emotions perfectly at what I was seeing.  On one hand, each sound the dessert forks made against the fine china felt one a bit too much, almost enough to cut the tension like a cord.  On the other, the chewing sound of the thin sheet of filled dough mixed with lots of cream whetted my appetite and made me drool.  The quiet conversation and the images and sound of food excited my senses like it was arousal from a sexual act.

That scene has been imprinted in my head and I couldn’t help but think about it everytime I’d see my pair of lovely dessert forks from Gourdo’s.  I scored these from a dessert place I’ve been frequenting lately.  They let me have them after I gorged on their bundt cake.

These glorious dessert forks never fail to bring back flashing scenes of “Inglourious Basterds,” arguably one of the best films of 2009 – if not of all time.  Christoph Waltz should be handed the Oscar right now for his masterful portrayal of Col. Hans Landa.  Every time he appeared onscreen and interrogated someone, I could hear a short countdown ticking.  And before I knew it, chances were he’d put a hole in someone’s head.  He was that good.  I feel so sad that neither Mélanie Laurent nor Diane Krüger (as the British actress Bridget von Hammersmark) clinched Oscar nominations.  Theirs were tour de force performances that could’ve been drowned in the background with lesser-skilled actresses.  They were key personalities in two subplots that tragically collided at the end.

The other great thing about these Gourdo’s dessert forks is that with the thoughts that they bring back, I would often end up romancing the idea of learning to speak French or German.  After seeing “Inglourious Basterds,” I find that everything sounds so sophisticated and intelligent in French or German.

Parlez vous français?  Sprechen sie Deutsch?

These dessert forks can't wait to dig into strudels.

 

Forked in a V-formation!

 

Copyright © 2010 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

One response

13 03 2010
eyes only

“i love rumors” – hans landa

Like

Leave a Reply

