In heat for nights on end

15 02 2010

TALK ABOUT being in heat for four nights in a row!  No, it’s not what you are thinking. But I like the way you think.

My cheating on the weekends furtively crawled its way in on the weeknights.  It started last Monday with a pot of my favorite “Sinigang na Baboy sa Bayabas” (Pork Belly in Guava Broth with Fresh Vegetables).  While I did do my best to fill myself up with just the almost gelatinous pork belly and the vegetables, it felt almost sacrilegious to not have it with heaping platefuls of the very best steamed white rice.

I know it was a conscious decision I made.  But I’m inclined to share the blame – the bigger part of it – to a lot of unusually hot and finely tapering green hot chili peppers we scored at the local market.  Extra hot and spicy always does it for me.  And in the case of these chilies, I didn’t just use them to spike the fruity broth, I ate them up like a vegetable!  I brought the dish to a roaring boil and blanched the chili peppers for a few seconds.  I must’ve had at least five of these each time.

The beads of perspiration that formed in my temples would belie any claim that I didn’t enjoy what I was doing.

 

 

Copyright © 2010 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

