Iced with cream and coffee beans and berries

3 04 2010

CHOCOLATES DO not really send me to a state of frenzied rapture.  Unless perhaps we’re talking Royce’ or Baci Perugina here.  But ice cream…  ice cream, I’ve always loved.  And it runs the whole gamut – from the “dirty” variant that gets peddled on the streets (which Partner and I both love), to the soft ones we’d bring to the movie theater when I was a kid (beginning with that one birthday), to a couple I stocked up with in preparation for the movie and TV series marathons I’ve been having this holiday.

My first serving of the mocha ice cream.

Anything that captures the robust, full-bodied aroma of freshly roasted coffee beans at subzero temperatures has my name written all over it.  Sometimes, waiting in line at Starbucks, I would fancy asking for a couple of shots of espresso, mix them with cream and a little chocolate, and stick the whole thing in the freezer.  This very thought got me so turned on I had to make calls to have a half-gallon tub of Nestle mocha ice cream brought home.  I started politely by scooping small portions that beautifully contrasted against pristine fine china.  But eventually, I took the whole container with me to the couch, and finished it off as Norah Walker’s stentorian voice rose to such a feverish pitch as to drown out all protests from her children, over dinner on Brothers & Sisters.

Yet another portion of the mocha ice cream... before I had to just get the whole tub!

 

Just one last shot before I cleaned the container out.

But running out of ice cream – with many more episodes of that ABC hit family drama and The Big Bang Theory staring me at the face – wasn’t exactly a thought to relish.  So even before I licked the last scoop of mocha ice cream off of my Oneida spoon, I made sure that Berry Strawberry from the Selecta Gold Series was already cocooning in the coldest corner of the freezer, behind piles of Nestle fruit selection yogurt.  Originally, I’ve never liked the thought of fruit bits in my ice cream.  No wonder, “Halo-halo sorbetes” never had a chance with me as a kid.  The cold stare I would give it always did a better job in turning it into mush than the sorching tropical sun ever could.

Berry Strawberry from the Selecta Gold Series

 

Taking it a scoop at a time. Sooo good!

 

The real strawberry bits are blended so well with and into the Franch vanilla ice cream. Yum!

But yogurt changed that for me.  And now, Berry Strawberry – more so.  It has taken me over a year, from when I first tried a variant from the Selecta Gold Series, to try Chef J. Gamboa’s “unique, carefully perfected masterpiece.”  Truly, sun-ripened strawberries blended with the very best French vanilla ice cream is “a marriage made in heaven.”  I think I’ve found my new favorite!

Yes, coffee and mocha will be constant in my life.  But strawberries in rich cream has held my tastebuds hostage for now. 

Copyright © 2010 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 04 2010
melai

hi enteng! i’ve got to taste the Berry Strawberry… hehehehe! nga pla, were you able to try Selecta’s Vanilla Almond? Yum-sarap din un! 🙂

Like

20 04 2010
entengvince

i haven’t tried that yet. know what? you’re the second to tell me i should!

Like

Leave a Reply

