Happy birthday, Summit!

14 05 2010

My favorite cupcake, an offering to the Summit.

I REMEMBER exactly where and when I first saw her.  I walked in to the recerational hall primarily to assess the hosts of the “Battle of the Bands” that our company was sponsoring.  (They didn’t get me for this gig so I went there to “assess.”).  But upon entering the sound-drowned space, my eyes got transfixed at this lady with a pixieish cut that accentuated her eyes and her high, defined cheekbones.  She was taking “cinematic” and really “artistic” shots of the band on stage.  The way she was with the camera, I could tell she wasn’t just one of those who have money to burn on a gadget and eventually brandish themselves a – gosh – videographer.

I pulled aside my friend Jules who was part of the Employee Programs team, and just had to ask – no, scream above the blaring speakers – “Who’s that girl?”   Jules didn’t feel the need to check first who I was referring to and proudly declared, “Bago namin.  Si DataDaphne Tatiana.  Taga-Probe yan dati!”  (“She’s our new hire Data, short for Daphne Tatiana.  She’s worked at Probe before!).  I found the undeniable excitement and pride in Jules’s voice to be warranted.  After all, Probe Productions is arguably one of the best, if not the best magazine show and investigative journalism TV outfit the Philippines has ever had.  Jules spoke as if hiring Data was synonymous to cutting all the way to the top of an Hermes Birkin waitlist, and not having to pay full price.

She was a breath of fresh air in a multinational company of 6,000+ where it wasn’t commonplace for women to come in sophisticated, elegant, really feminine garb.  For a while, Data rocked Boho-chic.  And while others could surely put on those articles of clothing, nobody else could pull the look off with such grace and effortless, understated elegance.  I didn’t need to look at the Sienna Miller.  I had Data then to look at.  I found myself scratching my head and staring at the ceiling a number of times with the thought that without her knowing and intending to, Data was upping the ante when it came to style at the workplace.

Later on, I realized that the perfect hair, the clear and pretty face, and the always-put-together look were a package that wraps inside a beautiful person.  It does sound painfully trite, but I have to say that the phrase “woman of style and substance” is the best way to describe Data.

I eventually got introduced to her and right to this very moment, that has got to be one of the best things that has ever happened to me.  I’ve always believed that when it comes to friends, it’s always a matter of choice.  And to be able to surround yourself with those who can help nurture the best things you like about yourself – those who can inspire you to keep getting better – is something no one can ever put a price tag on.

Any aspiration I may have to be a really good blogger has been fueled by Data’s own The Muesli Bowl.  Her account there of how she felt being away from her husband who had to pursue higher education somewhere Down Under remains to be an unparalleled written work in my book.  The same holds true to her opinion of the “Woman in Yellow” and the kind of revolution she ignited.

I won’t claim at this point that “words fail me” to give justice to my friend Data because clearly, I’ve breezed through six paragraphs already.  But I do feel that way.  And I haven’t even started about the rudiments of video-making and video-editing that she has taught me.  Suffice it to say, everything and anything I know about those things, I learned from Data.  She taught me so much more over a light brunch at Figaro at The Podium than all the many videos I had watched on YouTube weeks before that.  She could be quite unselfish with her knowledge and with her time so I had been very careful not to abuse the privilege to be under her tutelage.

As with other successful friendships, it does help that we find the same things funny – and laugh at them heartily!  And thanks to sense of humor, I have found a way to refer to Data in a way that try as I might, couldn’t belie the regard and respect I have for her.  I call her “Summit.”   And I feel like a Sherpa in her presence.

Today, the 14th of May, is her birthday.  Happy birthday, Data!  Amishoo! 

Copyright © 2010 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 05 2010
data

This has, without a doubt, been one of the absolute SWEETEST and TOUCHING things anyone has ever done for me. UNPRECEDENTED, Enteng, and true to form you make it a point to carve your own niches and define your own class everywhere you go!

I love that you told this story…di ko alam na under evaluation na ako, ahaha! But really my year at INTEL counts as one of the best experiences I’ve ever had. And the people — among the dearest and most admirable human beings I’ve had the privilege of working with.

Most of all I am soooo grateful that the okrayan sessions, kwentuhans, kainans and editing sessions only strengthened our friendship. Time and distance are irrelevant. Stories are eternal. Thanks for continuing to tell
them to us and for us.

I hope to see you soon my friend. No summit is complete without the gentle clouds that define its peak.

🙂 Take care. Mwah!

Like

14 05 2010
data

This has, without a doubt, been one of the absolute SWEETEST and TOUCHING things anyone has ever done for me. UNPRECEDENTED, Enteng, and true to form you make it a point to carve your own niches and define your own class everywhere you go!

I love that you told this story…di ko alam na under evaluation na ako, ahaha! But really my year at INTEL counts as one of the best experiences I’ve ever had. And the people — among the dearest and most admirable human beings I’ve had the privilege of working with.

Most of all I am soooo grateful that the okrayan sessions, kwentuhans, kainans and editing sessions only strengthened our friendship. Time and distance are irrelevant. Stories are eternal. Thanks for continuing to tell
them to us and for us.

I hope to see you soon my friend. No summit is complete without the gentle clouds that define its peak, and you and your friendship are the most refreshing, gentle clouds.

🙂 Take care. Mwah!

Like

Leave a Reply

