Nissin I’ve been missin’

30 05 2010

IT’S QUITE hard to go gaga about any of the locally produced cup noodles after one has tasted authentic Nissin Cup Noodle from Japan.  No disrespect meant towards all the La Paz Batchoy and the Chicken Sotanghon that abound in supermarket shelves.  But nothing does come close to Nissin, the “authentic” one.  That has been the case with me for over a decade now.

Going crazy over Nissin Cup Noodle bowls!

Trust the Japanese to also elevate a rather placid mundane scene of floor-to-ceiling noodle bowl displays – rife with every possible flavor or variant – into a more interactive supplier-to-customer one-stop-shop when they introduced to the market outlets where one can customize the ingredients and the flavor of a noodle bowl.  After selections are made, the bowl is sealed and can be called any which way one wants to!  I fancy making one with a miso-based broth!

But while that isn’t a possibility just yet, I have no complaints about satiating my cup noodle cravings with Nissin Cup Noodle Seafood.  I love the gingery broth that tastes “pleasantly” like the freshest seafood – rehydrated chunks of which generously swim in each foam cup.  Tamago (egg) being a staple in Japanese cuisine, Nissin made sure its presence is pronounced in every serving.  I make my noodles with water from a kettle that has just gone through a roaring boil.  But not really boiling – exactly 15 seconds after – just to make sure the foam cup doesn’t melt.

Nissin obviously doesn't scrimp on the ingredients!

 

I made the seafood and the curry at the same time. (I ate up in a hurry to be able to get any good enough photos. Next time!)

I weigh down the foil cover with a small plate just to make sure the cup is almost sealed shut.  And in the heat, in just two minutes, magic happens.

I weigh the foil covers down with good china just to make sure they are indeed sealed shut for the two minutes (exactly) that I let them "cook"!

[For a change, with this batch I bought one Nissin Cup Noodle Curry – to try!  I don’t have any issues with it except that the broth turns out more like a thick sauce.]

Tried the curry for the first time!

Copyright © 2010 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 08 2010
Terence

happy and blessed to know that my gift to you is very useful…… if i have an opportunity to go back to Shanghai… i will give you a ——–

Like

19 08 2010
entengvince

tenz… give me a what??? hehehe… fill in the blank only when the response is wholesome ha. HAHAHA!

Like

19 08 2010
Alexis

You are making me miss my rameyon (That’s the Korean version) fix! Spicy Mushroom Shin Rameyon from Nongshim = yum in a cup!

Like

Leave a Reply

