And before I used to wonder why it is called that way

3 07 2010

Every shabu-shabu dinner comes with a platter of these – tofu, fish cake, squid balls, beef balls, a crabstick, a piece of corn on the cob, a shiitake mushroom cap, a carrot florette, a wedge of tomato, thick egg noodles, glass noodles, napa cabbage, baby bok choy (a.k.a. Taiwan pechay), and a piece of taro root. I eat everything... except the taro root!

I’VE BEEN having Healthy Shabu-Shabu for dinner lately more often than I would be comfortable to admit.  I guess that is the case with addiction – you tell yourself that the last hit would be the last, or would at least last quite a while before you realize you need another one.  You know that the more you tell yourself this, the harder it is to resist the temptation.

It goes without saying that I’m wearing out my Healthy Shabu-Shabu discount card fast.

Last night’s dinner was shared with The Italian and Brother.  We savored what I can truly call a dinner at a leisurely pace – especially with about three hours we needed to burn before the last screening of The Twilight Saga: Eclipse in one of the three cinemas that was alloted to this international blockbuster.

(For previous posts on Healthy Shabu-Shabu, please go here, here, and here.)

A shabu-shabu meal starts with the broth. Healthy Shabu-Shabu's is easily for me, the cleanest tasting shabu-shabu broth.

 

Healthy Shabu-Shabu makes their own dipping sauce which diners can customize to their taste, by adding Korean sate sauce, chopped garlic, chopped bird's eye chillies, and chopped spring onions.

 

The only thing I add to my dipping sauce is the Korean sate sauce.

 

I ordered the fish fillet set. Soon enough, nine really fresh, plump, and juicy white fish fillet came to the table.

 

The only extra order I asked for was "Tagalog Pechay", which is a kin of the more internationally known baby bok choy (or baby bok choy som).

 

Healthy Shabu-Shabu lost some points in my book a couple of times in the (distant) past because they began serving low quality rice. Now, they're back to serving high quality "almost-Japanese" rice!

 

Shabu-shabu is not the time to hurry. When I eat, I cook the food only when I'm about to eat them. The only ones I leave in the broth for a long time are the shiitake mushroom, carrot, tomato, tofu, and corn. The leafy vegetables get only 10 seconds in the rolling rolling boil.

 

I finished my rice! Though after reviewing the photo on my camera, I realized that I inadvertently left behind five grains of rice. Exactly five, my auspicious number! Suffice it to say, I finished each of these grains... one by one using my chopsticks.

 

Copyright © 2010 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

