Prosciutto before changing area codes

7 09 2010

Buon Giorno!'s Prosciutto A Funghi Pizza

I LOVE prosciutto e melone – paper thin slices of prosciutto (Italian salt-cured ham) wrapped around slices of cantaloupe.  They usually make for perfect antipasto platters, along with artichoke hearts (cured in brine), green olives, kalamata olives, and a board of soft cheeses.

So imagine my surprise to find this ham made into something else – a pizza!  I wondered how much they would put on the dish, knowing how expensive this cured meat could get.  The best is called prosciutto di Parma, paying homage to its provenance where it is said to be hung to cure and air-dry along a mountain range.  Very much like a skeptical chemist (I read something with a very similar sounding title before), I expected only flecks of prosciutto to dot the top of the pizza.  But Buon Giorno! proved me wrong.

Prosciutto A Funghi Pizza does sound so luxurious.  And not being a “pizza person” myself, I wouldn’t ask for it.  But I was with very special company, for a very special reason.  It was my kiddo K-anne’s farewell dinner with my team before she would have started a new chapter in her life in a new area code.  Thankfully, the wifey and Blossom were fine with Paulo staying out late.  K-anne’s best friend Stave was present too, as well as Marge.  Among my engineers, only Adam wasn’t available.  While we were waiting for all the entrées to hit tha table, killing time with animated conversation interspersed with trying to make the image of Taal Volcano through the dense fog, Adam was checking out the pavilions at the World Expo in Shanghai.  As for Brother and The Flash, they couldn’t bail out of a DOTA session anymore.

My kiddo K-anne, one of the best and the brightest engineers I've ever had the opportunity to work with.

 

Beauty and the Bruschetta

 

My kiddo's best friend, Stave!

 

Best friends forever!

Buon Giorno! is proving to be a favorite destination this year.  And as with any favorites, I would always ask for the usuals.  The wait staff handing me the menu is an exercise in futility as I am bound to ask for Insalata Caprese (Caprese Salad), Tarragon Tea, and Fettuccini Primavera to be turned into Angel Hair Pomodoro without the vegetables.  And yes, the complimentary bread – left soft, never toasted.

Thankfully, company took care of asking for those that would normally zip past through my attention span.  It was Paulo who asked for the Prosciutto A Funghi Pizza.  And to wash everything down, he had Café Latte.  K-anne, obviously with her own usual, settled for the Gamberretti E Funghi Ravioli (shrimp and mushroom ravioli) yet again.  “The Bruschetta!”  she and best friend Stave chorused, undoubtedly enamored by the flavor and texture of chunks of plump roma tomatoes, cubes of fresh mozarella cheese, shards of basil leaves and extra virgin olive oil heaped on slices of toasted Italian bread rubbed with the cut side of raw garlic.  Marge had the Tagliatelle Verde Gamberi (narrow spinach pasta ribbons with lots of shrimps).  And Stave – not particularly happy with the intense pesto the last time – asked for what I was having, the pomodoro.

Buon Giorno! wasn’t exactly the first choice for the evening’s gastronomic feast.  But I figured, why not take K-anne to a place that is familiar and sentimental?  After all, that will most likely be part of what she will miss when she leaves.  Something I and her friends will too.

Before anybody gave in to all the reminiscing, and with a couple of holes still to spare on our belts as our girths temporarily expanded, we moved to Café Breton where, yet again, we yearned for the taste of the familiar – La Pinay, Strawberry and Vanilla Ice Cream Milkshakes, and Nutella Crepe.  Only the Blueberries and Cream Crepe,  K-anne’s Café Mocha, and my hot Lemon & Ginger Tea were new entries to our dessert repertoire.

I miss you K-anne!  We have to hit the city next time.  Stave can’t wait!

Buon Giorno!'s cozy interiors. Lovin' the colors and that "Tuscan Villa" to the left. That's where all the sumptuous dishes are made.

 

Bread basket

 

Complimentary bread... perfect for dipping!

 

Tarragon Tea

 

Paulo

 

Cafe Latte

 

Insalata Caprese

 

Bruschetta

 

The Prosciutto A Funghi Pizza has finally landed!

 

Angel Hair Pomodoro

 

A tight shot of the lone basil leaf

 

Gamberretti E Funghi Ravioli

 

Tagliatelle Verde Gamberi

 

The group moves to Cafe Breton for dessert.

 

Where all the crepe magic happens!

 

Some of the beautiful pottery that Cafe Breton showcases on their second floor. I think they make these too.

 

Farm fresh eggs by the kitchen counter... which I think are more for effect than actual use in the batter. I think the batter gets delivered to each branch already mixed and ready to hit the griddle.

 

The batter is ladled on to the hot griddle as the third of our three crepes was to be made.

 

My Lemon & Ginger Tea, beside which stands a bottle of honey that brings back childhood memories.

 

Cafe Mocha

 

My Nutella Crepe, with the spread kept to the side this time!

 

Blueberries and Cream

 

La Pinay

 

La Pinay and Blueberries and Cream

 

"OMG! K-anne is leaving?!?!?!"

 

Santino, is that you?!... May Bukas Pa!

 

Saw these three lanterns at the cafe beside Buon Giorno!, across Cafe Breton. Christmas is just 'round the corner. But I think these lanterns remind me of three stars in my life - K-anne, Francis, and Stave.

 

 

Copyright © 2010 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 09 2010
Ms. K

sniff sniff…. I’m so touched boss eNTeNG! i miss you too!!! Thank you for this wonderful blog! I’m teary-eyed right now! huhuhu
Please do visit me here! 😦

Like

7 09 2010
Alexis

You just mentioned one of my fave words: prosciutto!

Like

Leave a Reply

