Forever fave footwear

29 10 2010

Adidas Samba in classic black with three white stripes

THE BROWN and black shoes of my childhood seemed meant to last forever.  The most memorable pairs were Adidas leather lace-ups that said they were “Made in Yugoslavia.”  So I practically grew up thinking that Adidas were brown, black, leather, and came from a Southeastern European country that now no longer exists.  Those, and the usual white running shoes.

It wasn’t until 2003 when I got introduced to the Samba, Adidas’s indoor soccer training shoes.  I saw it on my then new friend Michel Fisher and I thought they looked great.  To this day, my fascination for these shoes remains to be one of his enduring influences on my footwear preference.

Since then, I’ve made sure that I would have at least one pair in good condition every year.  The first time I bought them at their Vacaville outlet store, I got four pairs.  Those are now worn out – but I’ve kept them for sentimental reasons.

Last weekend, I decided to get a new pair in a new color combo I haven’t tried – classic black with three gold stripes.  Unfortunately, It wasn’t available in my size so I had to settle for the classic black with three white stripes.  Such a beauty that I just want to stare at them and not wear them at all.

I'm thinking about going back for the one with gold stripes!

 

Copyright © 2010 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 10 2010
Michael Fisher

Looks good! Reminds me of a time when I had an old worn out pair of Samba Classics. I cleaned them up, removed the laces and taped over all the white stripes and the soles. I took an ordinary can of gold spray paint and painted the shoes gold. I replaced the laces with new white laces and shined them up. They looked like a million bucks. Told my friends I paid $250 USD for them and that they were “Special Edition Samba Classics”. Turns out I forgot to tell one friend I was only kidding. Had a great laugh when several years later he asked me, “What ever happened to those special edition shoes of yours?”

Like

29 10 2010
entengvince

Hey there Mr. Fisher!!! Be careful telling me these stories. You know what kind and how much of an influence you are to me. I just might run out after office today and grab a can of spray paint… and make my own “Special Edition Samba Classics!” Hahaha!

When did you sport these gold shoes?! I don’t remember seeing you running around the test floor in those! Hahaha!

Like

Leave a Reply

