Peanut Butter Nutella. Eat Pay Love.

16 01 2011

CUPCAKES BY Sonja keeps giving back.  And I keep coming back!  It’s like having your very own Eat Pay Love moment.  Have your cupcake and eat it too.  Pay for it.  And, send ripples of your love to as far as they could go.  I’m sure that’s what happens when part of the proceeds go to a good cause.

Peanut Butter Nutella cupcake by Cupcakes by Sonja

 

A box of four. Actually, one of boxes of four.

That exactly is the case with every purchase of the Peanut Butter Nutella cupcake by Cupcakes by Sonja.  Reminiscent of her “Red Velvet Vixen for Red Cross” campaign in 2009, this new socially responsible drive benefits the Virlanie Foundation – “Giving back the smile to street children”.

And sinking your teeth into one of these peanut butter-nutella confections likewise couldn’t help but put a smile on your face!  I love peanut butter, reason enough for me to explore turning it into a sauce for egg noodles long before I got formally exposed to the wonders of Indonesian satay.  But over the years, I’ve come across peanut butter cookies and cakes that had proven to be wanting.  Even Otis Spunkmeyer’s version of the classic peanut butter chocolate chip cookie wasn’t able to impress me.

I just love the height and the look of that Nutella buttercream frosting.

Cupcakes by Sonja’s Peanut Butter Nutella cupcake puts an end to the dry spell that’s my search for a really satiating peanut butter confection.  It has got to be one of the most visually compelling in Sonja’s wide array of offerings – an imposing tower of swirls of nutella-spiked buttercream frosting sits prettily on top of the peanut butter cake, in which is ensconced a dollop of Nutella chocolate hazelnut spread.  It’s an “architecturally sound” work of edible art as handling and traveling didn’t compromise the integrity of the frosting’s design and structure.

I freed one from the hold of the box-of-four liner and soon the feast for the eyes became a feast for the palate.  The cake is crumbly and moist, my Oneida Silversmiths dessert fork being chased by just enough eager and yummy crumbs as it pierced its way through to the bottom.  The flavor is undeniably peanut buttery – unapologetic in its goodness but at the same time, not cloyingly sweet.  And when savored in the mouth, it is amazing how a small piece of cake – kissed by Nutella, and slathered with buttercream – becomes something big.

And when you get reminded where part of what you paid for for the cupcake goes, you do realize just how big.  Now, doesn’t that bring enjoying dessert to a totally new level of guilt-free?

A pile of treats from Cupcakes by Sonja! My all-time favorite is somewhere in there.

 

Four red velvet vixens in a box!

 

Once bitten...

 

I just had to get these too – Peanut Butter Whoopie Pies!

 

The very scrumptious Peanut Butter Whoopie Pie in a solo box. The "doily" that lined the pie against the box was a nice, elegant touch.

 

Sharing the love – a Peanut Butter Nutella and a Red Velvet Vixen shared with our company's very efficient and outstanding Executive Admin Assistant, Ms. Deng.

 

Cupcakes by Sonja menu

 

My excitement over the Peanut Butter Nutella cupcake makes it to a card.

 

Every purchase of the Peanut Butter Nutella cupcakes benefits a good cause.

 

Copyright © 2011 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

7 responses

17 01 2011
Susan

Enteng,

I have been enjoying your blog for a little over a week now. I stumbled on it quite but accident while trying to locate a friend of mine from Singapore, I had lost contact with. (Who stayed here in Utah, USA a little over a year or so ago.) What a wonderful surprise to find a blog that is so funny, well-written, interesting and enlightening. Your blog is one of the best I have read in some time, and I read quite a few!

I have loved it though, reading your thoughts on food, wristwatches and books!! (Three things I do adore, as well!) And you have amazing penmanship!

Happy blogging from this part of the US! I hope you don’t mind my stopping by every so often from now on :]

Like

17 01 2011
entengvince

Hi Susan… Thanks for the kind words. No one has ever told me this blog is “funny, well-written, interesting and enlightening”! I mean, nobody has said that what I write here are all of those things. Hahaha! You are very kind. There are over 400 posts here already, so I hope you won’t grow tired going through them. Thanks for stopping by! – eNTeNG c”,)™©

Like

17 01 2011
Partner

I want some when i go home next week…i can’t wait!!!! 🙂

Like

17 01 2011
melai

they all look yummy to me! hehehehe.. 😛

Like

17 01 2011
alex

i agree with susan 🙂 I wish I’m at 1/4 of a writer you are 😛

Like

17 01 2011
alex

i agree with susan 🙂 I wish I’m at least 1/4 of a writer you are 😛

Like

17 01 2011
Alexis

First of all, the title got me. Peanut Butter AND Nutella? My taste buds dance at the mere idea of that!

As someone who volunteered two days with Virlanie, I must commend Sonja’s for coming up with this campaign. I met some great kids there, and I can truly say they’re deserving of the proceeds.

Plus, like I said. Peanut butter AND Nutella? Yes, please!

Like

Leave a Reply

