Today in jeans and shirts

19 01 2011

WHEN MY penny-pinching started, my blog post “Life in the time of bailouts” came to be.  Nothing much has changed a couple of years since I wrote that.  If there’s anything that three consecutive days and nights at the Mall of Asia (MOA), and a serendipitous find at the “Shell of Asia” along NLEX further affirmed to me, it is that I will shop only where it says SALE.  Preferably in big, bold, red letters.

Last Friday, while doing the rounds of stores at MOA – for shirts and toys for my nephews – I chanced upon this window display at Lacoste.  I was drawn to how well-put-together the whole ensemble was.  I loved the shirt and the shoes, but it was the pair of pants in royal blue that pulled me in to the store.  Now I could say that the green scarf speaking to Rebecca Bloomwood, luring her to yet another unnecessary purchase, wasn’t so preposterous.

Lovin' the pants in my fade shade of blue!... Lacoste ensemble at their window display in MOA.

I actually hesitated to inquire because I knew I wouldn’t be able to afford it.  Besides, I didn’t want to risk having to call the pants “that blue stuff on display” – because I’d always articulate my inquiry to sales people rather than point with my fingers – lest I earn the ire of Miranda Priestly and get a dressing down on how this shade of blue trickled down to the masses.  Sensing my indecisiveness, my sister-in-law did all the asking on my behalf.  Php 4950.00 for the pair of pants.  Quite steep for my standards for things I buy for myself.

I told myself that I could save up for it.  Then another voice in my head told me that if I will have to do that, I don’t have a business wanting it in the first place.  So, goodbye Lacoste pants in my favorite shade of blue.

Then came the weekend.  On the drive back from Fontana in Clark we decided to stop for Starbucks, which we found at this gas station that purports itself to be the “Shell of Asia”.  Do you know how it feels like when you know what your goal or intention is and yet so many other things seem more attractive, piquing your curiosity and pulling you to directions other than your original goal?  That’s exactly what happened to me on the way to Starbucks.  And it was because one store screamed: “OUTLET”.  Giordano Outlet, to be exact.

Giordano Outlet at the Shell of Asia along the North Luzon Expressway (NLEX)

Walking past the Php 299.00 shirt pile, I ran my fingers through the jeans rack and that was where my eye caught a certain shade of blue peeking from what appeared to me as a slice of vanilla gateau de crêpe turned to its side.  Eureka!  And when I checked the tag – reduced three times! – it was just for the very affordable price of Php 750.00.  Sold!  Hahaha!

So here it is, my new pair of jeans.  In the shade of blue that I love.  For a price I was willing to pay.

Giordano jeans in my favorite shade of (royal) blue!

 

(At MOA, I also found a statement shirt that appealed to me in all its cheesiness.  Yes, cheesy but undeniably…  hopeful too.  Hahaha!)

"God is writing my love story"

 

Today in jeans and shirt

 

This is just so cute.

 

Starbucks at the "Shell of Asia"

 

My usual "goodness" is chai tea latte over ice. Sometimes, it's green tea latte, which I discovered through Green Lantern.

 

Starbucks Flourless Chocolate Brownie

 

Dessert and tea

 

Copyright © 2011 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

12 responses

19 01 2011
Partner

Partner! i so love the yellow shirt because i love, love that song by the indigo girls:

“adding up the total of a love that’s true…
multiply life by the power of two 🙂 “

Like

19 01 2011
entengvince

Partner!!! You came to mind when I saw it. And I actually wanted to get it for you and your you-know-who. What do you think? I took a photo of it to show you. And true enough, you were the first to react to it here! Great minds… think… hehehe… Ah, great minds think alike pala!

Like

20 01 2011
Alexis

Teehee! I love the two t-shirts! How adorably romantic!

(Then again, I’m the Queen of Cheese)

Like

21 01 2011
entengvince

Then I’m the King of Cheese. Hahaha!

Like

21 01 2011
Alexis

Hahahaha! Hey, why not! We’ll govern Cheeseland with justice! LOL!

Like

21 01 2011
entengvince

Hey Toni Alexis… You inspired me to start my own “A Year in Love”… I’m planning to start it here =)

Like

20 01 2011
Partner

partner, in yellow?! hmmm…….hmmmm….hmmmm….. 😛

Like

21 01 2011
Susan

Outlet shopping = heaven.

I just adore that God is writing your love story! Just hope it isn’t about your love of Starbuck’s! (hehe just teasing!)

Like

21 01 2011
Alexis

Hahaha! You really had to say my entire name, aye? Haha!

Well, I feel honoured i inspired such an amazing, kind person as you!

Like

28 01 2011
nikki

hi. where did you buy that “God is writing my love story” shirt? 🙂

Like

31 01 2011
entengvince

Hi Nikki… Thanks for stopping by my blog (or stumbling into it. haha!). I got the shirt at Philosophy in MOA. I think their main/flagship store is the one at Bonifacio High Street. The shirt is also available in white. It sells for Php 599.00.

Like

8 02 2011
u8mypinkcookies

been hearing raves about that flourless brownie in Starbucks! will finally get to try it for breakfast tom. 😀

Like

Leave a Reply

