Make someone happy

25 01 2011

ONE OF my personal life-long goals came from a perfume campaign from about a decade ago.  I saw their posters and cardboard fragrance testers at the Duty-Free shop and I knew right there and then that with my purchase of my first bottle, I had caught a whiff of what would be a cornerstone to my existence – “Make someone happy.”

I don’t mean that I get out of bed every morning with a (conscious) intention to make someone happy.  It’s just something that has always been at the back of my head – sometimes hovering above me in thought bubbles – allowing me to dole out random acts of kindness and of love.

The gestures don’t have to be grand.  I still believe that the smallest of deeds far outweighs the grandest of intentions.  What matters is that I give willingly, and with a cheerful heart.  I’ve come to realize that I do it best through food – the moment I share food with you, I truly care about you.  The moment I cook for you, well…  I cook for you.

I got reminded to make this post today after I had told my good friend Toni Alexis that I’ve been thinking about documenting my own “year in love,” obviously inspired by her own.  I love her tagline: “One Year, one girl, one mission:  to spread one love one day at a time.”

Spreading love is all about making someone happy besides yourself.  So I’ll keep on doing it.  There’s no better way to leave this world but by leaving behind the best parts of my life – which, if I’ll borrow from a previous post – are the little, nameless, and unremembered acts.

Copyright © 2011 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 01 2011
Alexis

Oh my goodness, Enteng! I’m honoured! I really am!

“Spreading love is all about making someone happy besides yourself. So I’ll keep on doing it. There’s no better way to leave this world but by leaving behind the best parts of my life – which, if I’ll borrow from a previous post – are the little, nameless, and unremembered acts.”

I love that bit!

True. This is not about creating grand gestures. It’s about small things that put smiles on other people’s faces.

You certainly put a smile on mine!

And yes, you really had to say my entire given name! Haha!

Like

1 02 2011
eyes only

how “make someone not unhappy”? 😛

Like

Leave a Reply

