And all the while I thought I was unlikeable

7 02 2011

"Can I take your picture back?"

 

“CAN I take your picture back, Tito eNTeNG?”

It’s been days since the six-year-old asked me that when we saw them off at the NAIA.  Yet, I still hear it in my head.  It was hard to see them leave but they had to.  Truth be told, there wasn’t a dry eye when we said farewell to my eldest brother and his family.  But Mother’s seven-year old tip came in handy:  I said my farewells, hugged everybody really tight, said ‘I love you’s’, made promises, doled out unsolicited advice to the children, waved like crazy, and then turned around.  That was the only time I allowed myself to shed a tear.  Never in front of those leaving.

I didn’t expect to make a real connection with the six-year-old since he was born in the States and this was the first time we were seeing each other.  I knew the 14-year-old and the 10-year-old were quite excited to see me, their “generous” uncle.  I’ve never had a problem bringing them shopping because I know they would never get spoiled.  They’ve been raised really well.  I could tell.

It came to a point of me wanting to ask that they leave the six-year-old with us.  I’d give him the best education I could – yes, I almost came to cutting a deal.  Hahaha!

I knew that the youngest had come to like me when, on our second time to see each other – they were alternating between our side and my sister-in-law’s – he would start to wait for me to get in the car before he would sit.  He told his mom, “I want to sit next to Tito eNTeNG.”

Ninoy Aquino International Airport

 

See you again! Soon!

 

Twenty minutes before check-in

 

The airport

 

The watch

 

Copyright © 2011 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

6 responses

7 02 2011
Alexis

I’ll take your mother’s advice since, well, I’ll be doing some leaving of my own pretty soon (Not now, but I might study abroad)!

Little nephews and nieces never fail to make me squeal!

Like

8 02 2011
entengvince

Hi Toni Alexis… Where exactly? Somewhere in Europe? By the way, I sent you a note on your birthday. Did you get it? I hope so!

Like

9 02 2011
Alexis

Heya!

Yes, perhaps, so. Or maybe even Hong Kong!

Like

9 02 2011
Alexis

PS: No, I have not received the note yet. Where did you send it?

Like

9 02 2011
entengvince

Hi Toni Alexis! Sent you a text message. I’ve been out of FB since Nov’10 =)

Like

10 02 2011
Alexis

Oh, Globe’s probably being weird. I didn’t receive anything.

Like

Leave a Reply

