Happy birthday, Giant Paulo!

22 02 2011

As a favor, Giant Paulo bought this cake for me at a Secret Recipe store in Shanghai, China a couple of years back. Here's the photo to say, "Happy Birthday, Giant Paulo!"

IN A tweet I posted yesterday, I got reminded of this: “A friend is someone with whom you dare to be yourself.”

And it reminds me of someone today.

For close to six years, Giant Paulo has directly reported to me at work.  He has got to be the most quiet, most steady engineer I have ever come across.  Before he moved to my team, I was told by his previous manager that in his batch, he was the best.  Oh, the silent worker type.  I took his word for it.  Time went on and I did prove it to myself to be true.

These past couple of years – especially after the time I had moved to the office space adjacent to his – I have to say that Giant Paulo and I have become really good friends.  The kind that goes beyond asking “How are you?” or “How’s your family?” rhetorically.  It’s the kind that asks those questions and waits for the answers.  “TMI” seemed to not have been part of our vocabulary.  (TMI – too much information.)

Now that he has moved to Singapore, I am left with fond memories of a great engineer, and an even greater friend.  It does help that I have memories of us singing together to look back to – I’d sing the lead vocals, he’d provide the backup and would sometimes beatbox!  I still hear it in my head: “…it’s not like the movies at all.”

Boss, hindi ganyanSlang yung ‘movies’.  It’s like mow-vies.”  Hahaha!

Today, the 22nd of February is his birthday.  Happy birthday, Giant Paulo!

Copyright © 2011 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 02 2011
Paulo

boss, major major thank you for this special birthday greeting. hope we have more TMI’s and songs to come! binabati ko nga pala si elvie torres, mama bing perez, abu urag at ang mga taga bakanteng lote (mga taga bakanteng lote?!) 😛

Like

27 02 2011
kalamayaddict

kakatouch talaga si enteng. 🙂

nga pla, belated haberday kuya pau! hehehe… taga-bakanteng lote? hahahaha!

Like

Leave a Reply

