The continuing secondhand books shopping spree

1 03 2011

Don't stop reading!

WHENEVER I look back to that 10-day trip I made to India a couple of years back – eating and praying (no loving!) in places such as Bangalore, Goa, and Mumbai – one of the moments that stand out in my memory is the half hour I spent at used books stalls that lined the stretch of a sidewalk in Mumbai.  There wasn’t any parking and our driver had to make several rounds around the block while I took my sweet time shopping.

I picked up back issues of the British edition of GQ, and two copies of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon.  I’ve read that book a number of times – in just one sitting the first time I did so, and in most of the times after that.  It actually made my list of 10 memorable reads in 2010, here.

My ten memorable reads in 2010

 

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Front Cover.

 

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Back Cover.

I got reminded of making this find in Mumbai when I came across similar sidewalk vendors near a top mall.  I stood transfixed at the wide array of choices, my stance probably giving away that I meant to make a serious purchase against a couple of others who were rummaging through the pile, sacrilegiously throwing aside Charles Dickens.  I almost screamed in horror.

I made a couple of purchases – one an homage to Partner and Friendship who just so love the author; the other, a personal favorite.

I’ve never read Sophie Kinsella.  Though I did tell Partner the last time we had dinner that I like how she (Sophie Kinsella) opens her novels.  I got to read a couple of them from a pile of sale items at Fully Booked over the holidays.

Confessions of a Shopaholic, Front Cover.

 

Confessions of a Shopaholic, Tagline.

I admire Nick Hornby.  I have, eversince his second novel About A Boy, which made the jump from paper to celluloid in 2002, starring Hugh Grant.  It was a role for which I believe Mr. Grant should’ve won at least an Academy Award nomination.  Mr. Hornby’s work that I rescued from all the dust and the pollution of the sidewalk is The Polysyllabic Spree, his account of the books he bought and those which he actually read (not necessarily from those he bought) during the period of September 2003 to November 2004.

The Polysyllabic Spree, Front Cover.

 

This Nick Hornby book is about books!

 

"About a Boy" was the first work that introduced me to Nick Hornby. It was excellently adapted into film.

Surprisingly, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time made it to Mr. Hornby’s April 2004 “Books Read” list.

Nick Hornby read The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time too!

Both books are now by my bedside and I’m reading them simultaneously.  Good reads.  Arguably.

Copyright © 2011 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

