Inflight cuisine

18 03 2011

Braised Egg Noodles

UNLIKE MOST people, I’m a shameless fan of inflight cuisine.  I find no shame in admitting that.  Especially when I’d always come close to licking my plates and cutlery clean.

I’ve always maintained that Singapore Airlines has the most amazing inflight cuisine.  And that’s no matter what class you fly on.  I remember one flight I took in the past when the inflight menu featured world-renowned chefs.  I can close my eyes and lick my lips and taste the food like I just had it yesterday.  There are just things that remain simply unforgettable.

This last one I had is no exception from this long-standing tradition.

I chose the Braised Egg Noodles with Chicken and Vegetables in Oriental Sauce over the scrambled egg.  Tented in tin foil, the noodles – if they were soggy – would be understandable.  Preparing inflight food is quite tricky.  Between plating the dish, arranging them in trays, and serving them through the whole length of the aircraft, the carry-over cooking could ruin the dish.  But that would be the perfect excuse of the inexperienced – or the amateurish.

Singapore Airlines – actually, the chefs responsible for their edible creations – doesn’t need such excuse.  The noodles, while of Asian provenance, deserve the Italian descriptive “al dente.”  Doused in a special soy-based sauce, the flavor was more scrumptious than simply salty.  I picked on the chunks of chicken and the crisp vegetables first, and then, munching on lots of pickled chili rings, “slurped” the noodles.  Almost but not quite.  I didn’t want to disturb the picky eater to my left who was playing with her food.

Lovin' the colorful cover on the menu!

 

Welcome aboard. Enjoy the food!

 

Scrambled egg or noodles?! Easy choice!

 

The breakfast tray has arrived!

 

What lies beneath... revealed!

 

Singapore Airlines has fabulous cutlery!

 

Just how much I loved the cutlery...

 

This sauce complemented the noodles so well.

 

This is my mother's favorite butter. So I got to have it!

 

Done! Nothing spared... Hahaha!

 

Copyright © 2011 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

