Fishball Noodle Soup and Oyster Omelet

31 03 2011

Li Xin Fishball Noodle (Mee Kia) Soup at Ion Food Hall

 

FattyWeng Fried Oysters Oyster Omelet at Ion Food Hall

WITH PROBABLY the brooding persona of a melancholy madman on a mission, I approached my gastronomic adventure in Singapore armed with a weapon.  A checklist!

On it I have names of delicacies I should try, restaurants I should go to, and places where to shop – prioritized in that order.  Good thing I had the pages of my kikki.K DAILY NOTES notebook to serve this purpose.  Bought at kikki.K’s store in Singapore, it’s yet another one of Friendship’s thoughtful gifts.

By the end of day one, I had already ticked off chili crab, though all of my friends said I still had to have Jumbo Seafood Gallery’s version (and I did a couple of days later).  Halfway through day two, I had managed to put a check mark beside a couple more items – Fishball Noodle Soup and Oyster Omelet.

While both could be had at nearby friendly hawker stalls, I chose to look for them at the Ion Food Hall at Ion on Orchard, the mall nearest my hotel.

My fishball noodle soup is actually called Fishball Mee Kia Soup, “mee kia” or yellow wheat vermicelli noodles being my noodle of choice.  Served in a huge white bowl, it was almost overwhelming, chockful with seven of the biggest fishballs I’ve ever seen.  The fishballs were a delight both in texture and taste.  They were firm but characteristically soft and smooth and tasted with a hint of sweetness that could only mean they were made from more pricey fish meat.  To fire up the experience, I would dip each fishball – and subsequently lace the noodles – in the soy-chili dipping sauce that came with.

Seven large fishballs all in a circle

 

Soy-chili dipping sauce. I finished this!

I watched and waited – breathless in anticipation – while the chef whipped up my small portion of oyster omelet.  I’ve never had one in Manila so having it in Singapore was doubly thrilling.  With one quick motion of an experienced hand, the egg batter was mixed with a thin mixture of potato starch and ladled on to a hot griddle.  As the thick egg wrap formed with the heat, the rest of the ingredients, the freshly shucked oysters in particular, were thrown in in the (heated) frenzy.  A few more quick moves with the wrist and the savory omelet was plated and topped with freshly torn coriander leaves.  I stared at it and told myself, “This is their small portion.”

Ion Food Hall also goes by the name Food Opera.

 

Their small portion of the oyster omelet is not small at all!

 

The amount of oysters they put was very generous!

 

Lots of fresh coriander on anything makes me so happy.

I ate the omelet at a leisurely pace, as if making up for all those times I had put off ordering one in Manila.  It was so good that I felt I had to ration it – doling out a small piece each time for dramatic effect.  With my fork, I lingered, almost teasing each juicy oyster before I put them in my mouth.

I found it fitting to pair these hot dishes with something fresh, something raw that still had all of its enzymes intact.  I proceeded to Juice Bar and asked for fresh tomato juice.  They chucked in the juicer huge wedges of the brightest red plum tomatoes and after a couple of zaps, handed me the best tomato juice I’ve ever had.  Perfect.

Fresh tomato juice!

 

The look of satisfaction

 

Copyright © 2011 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

One response

31 03 2011
Clint

Yes to Kikki K.!

Like

Leave a Reply

