Crazy over Fou de Fafa

4 04 2011

eNTeNG at Fou de Fafa (photo by The Boy Wonder)

PARTNER COULDN’T stop raving about this quirky café near her office and had insisted I should visit it before my couple of weeks in Singapore would’ve come to an end.  The place doesn’t serve traditional Singaporean cuisine.  But I guess after ticking off chili crab, fishball noodle soup, oyster omelet, and Hainanese chicken rice on my list, it was time to get crazy over something else.  And Fou de Fafa at #01-05 Capital Tower, 168 Robinson Road, proved to be perfect.

Fou de Fafa's extensive menu. There are sections for "The Sandwiches", "The Hots", "Les Flats", "Feel So Gooders", "Les Salades", and "See Me, See Me Not!"

Partner’s invitation couldn’t have come at a better time.  Most of my earlier plans fell through and Friendship was running late with meetings.  So, I took Partner up on her offer to have dinner together.  Only thing was, I had to go all the way to Tanjong Pagar.  Partner, who together with Friendship, could very well be employed by the Singapore Tourism Board, sent me complete directions thru text.  Obviously, there wasn’t any excuse not to make it to Robinson Road.  Of all three options she presented me with – cab, bus, train – I took the last one.

I would always take photos of myself on board the MRT. Hahaha! This was the one time I got stares while doing so. I realized that I was on a "reserved seat" (for the physically challenged, pregnant, the elderly). I quickly moved to the next space. Good thing the train wasn't even half-full.

 

Yey! I made it to my stop, Tanjong Pagar. Robinson Road is Exit F.

 

I love this quote! "There is a calmness to a life lived in gratitude, a quiet joy."

 

See, I take photos just about everywhere. Cam whore!!!

 

Tanjong Pagar underpass.. Yeah, I was the only person there at this time.

I must’ve been staring at this building on Robinson Road for a while – all the window lights would change colors (too bad none of it was green) – that I had already missed one text message and one call from Partner before I realized I had to pick up.  A couple of pedestrian crossings and I was at Capital Tower where Partner picked me up.  On the walk back to her office – she still wasn’t done for the day! – she told me that we’d pass by the night’s dinner place.  Before she even managed to raise her hand and point it out, I had spotted it – Fou de Fafa, red hot in lights.  But honestly, noticing the lights was secondary, it was the smell of deliciousness that wafted through the door that got to me first.

That Robinson Road building in blue! I took this snapshot as blue is The Flash's favorite color.

 

I was waiting for the lights to turn green, but they didn't. It was supposed to be for Green Lantern. So I just took a shot of yellow, for myself.

 

Finally, Capital Tower!

 

Fou de Fafa!

Partner flung the door open and approached the store manager to inform her that we were to come back for dinner.  It was a few minutes past 9:00 PM and the place was to close at 10:00 PM.  So we had to make it back before 9:30 PM.  And we did, with The Boy Wonder in tow.  Partner did all the ordering, and soon, one by one, my NFFs (newfound friends, Partner’s officemates) came.

With Partner, making a quick stop to place a (last-minute) reservation.

 

Back at the restaurant, this time, with The Boy Wonder!

Pizza Fou’d Flewed will shatter any conventions you may have about pizzas.  Using a taco shell (I think) baked to a crisp as the crust (the Indian poppadom actually came to mind), the pizza promises a yummy crackling sound however which way you would approach it – with fork and knife, or with bare hands.  Unlike the usual tomato-based sauce and toppings that could wear the pizza crust down, Pizza Fou’d Flewed is topped with an impressive melange of ingredients scrumptious on their own, but surprisingly light and almost salad-like when put together – shredded poached chicken, baby arugula, tomatoes, avocado, and feta cheese, all laced with pesto.  It was an unapologetic, stunning edible work of art.  Tempting, to say the least.  There were six of us at the dinner table that night that I felt shameless finishing three portions of this pizza.  I just couldn’t help it.

Pizza Fou'd Flewed

 

Shredded chicken, crumbled feta cheese, diced tomatoes, chopped avocado, on a bed of loose baby arugula. I'm in love.

 

One of many portions of the Pizza Fou'd Flewed that I served myself!

 

I love love LOVE baby arugula (more popularly known as rocket).  I’ve loved it in salads, mixed with other delicate greens and dressed with a light honey mustard vinaigrette.  I’ve adored it tossed together with marinated fresh tomatoes and freshly shaved parmesan cheese in a bowl of piping hot capellini.  So relishing it in a new incarnation as Pizza Fou’d Flewed was just awesome, yet another welcome addition as to how I could enjoy this favorite green.

As a fitting homage to The Boy Wonder, Partner asked for the Macho Man (Hahaha!), a salad of delicate lettuce greens, tomatoes, cheese, chicken and sausage slices.  To round up the meal, we had the Organic Pancake Lasagna – both the Vegetarian and Chicken variations.  Though I didn’t get to try this last one, Partner didn’t fail in cluing me in on exactly what they were – layers of pancakes instead of pasta sheets, fillings of vegetables or chicken, slathered with chutney.

After the pizza, it was time for the Macho Man!

 

I knew Partner ordered this in honor of her love, The Boy Wonder!

 

Macho Man, this salad, is chockful with chicken and sausage slices tossed with lots of delicate greens, tomatoes, cheese and shards of corn tortilla chips.

 

This salad was sooo good!

 

One of two Organic Pancake Lasagnas that Partner ordered.

 

By way of pasta, I had to ask for the chef’s latest creation, a Tomato Chicken Cheese pasta dish using penne rigate.  And to wash everything down, I snapped up the store manager’s recommendation.  The name of the drink escapes me now.  But I remember it to be the perfect concoction of fesh pineapple, grapes, and mint.  It looked as blue as the spirulina algae drink I had in the States in years past.  But Fou de Fafa’s was oh so refreshingly good.

Tomato Chicken Cheese on penne rigate

 

My potent drink, a recommendation by the store manager. It had pineapple, grapes and mint in it. Yum!

 

I had my eye on this carrot cake the moment I stepped into the door. Unfortunately, I forgot to ask for dessert!

I’ve put Fou de Fafa’s name under the header of “must-go-back-to” places in Singapore.  And I wouldn’t be surprised to still get “surprised” the next time around.  What with the extensive menu, the creative and inventive use of ingredients, the options to go dairy-free or gluten-free, and not to be overlooked – the cozy ambiance.  Perfect for dinner with friends.  Or perphaps, someone you love.

I-S Maganize’s Restaurant Guide 2011 says that “Fou de Fafa” is French for “just to be crazy.”  And I did feel that way – crazy over the food.  And hopefully next time, crazy in love.

Partner's own "Fafa", The Boy Wonder. I used to call him... Harryboy. Hahaha!

 

Two of my best friends, Partner and The Boy Wonder.

 

The Boy Wonder's Pink Lemonade Snapple, Partner's Cranberry Snapple, and eNTeNG

 

My view when I'd get home at night... for two weeks.

 

Copyright © 2011 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

3 responses

4 04 2011
Partner

yey! a post about my favorite fou de fafa! now you know why i am so crazy about it 🙂

by the way partner, just a slight correction…the macho man was ordered for Kevin 😛

Like

4 04 2011
entengvince

Oh, I stand corrected. And I’d leave it at that. Hahaha! Amishoo, Partner!!! I miss SG so much already.

Like

6 04 2011
ron

getting excited everyday to visit singapore, i hope we can pass to that Robinson road building that changes light 🙂 nice

Like

Leave a Reply

