Thai in a jiffy

19 04 2011

Lots of Thai sweet basil to tear into my Thai green curry chicken!

I ASSOCIATE memories with either one of two things – scent or food.  Rarely, I could associate both to a specific instance in the past.

I first fell in love with Thai Green Curry Chicken in 2003 when I learned how to make one after watching Tyler Florence on FoodNetwork.  I still know exactly what I need to whip up a mean green curry paste upon which to build the whole green curry chicken dish.

I know I need to toast coriander seeds, cumin seeds and whole black peppercorns in a dry skillet.  Once they begin to perfume the air around me, I’d tip them on to a coffee grinder and buzz them to a fine powder.  At this point, I know two things – that the coffee grinder I’d use for spices can never be used for coffee anymore, and that I know better not to open the grinder and put my nose near it to catch a whiff.  It will surely shoot straight to my brain.  That’s a kind of rush nobody wants.

I need to mix this spice blend with hot green chilis, shallots, garlic, sprigs of cilantro, stalks of lemongrass, kaffir lime leaves, and a little dried shrimp paste.  A few whizzes in a food processor and everything ends up being whipped into a spiced and herbed frenzy!

The first and only chance I got to ask for my favorite Thai Green Curry Chicken in Singaporewas at Thai Express at Esplanade Mall.  It was exactly what I imagined it to be however unappealing it translated to its lone photo.

It was fiery hot – that I couldn’t forget.  Friendship could tell when I had to take a few sips of my drink – something I would only do at the end of the meal.  But the nice thing about it was that while the heat hit me first, it allowed for all the other layers of flavor to manifest themselves after the onslaught of fire.  Unlike the other “color” curries (red or yellow) of Thai cuisine, green curry is aromatic, really fragrant.  I credit the paste of cilantro, lemongrass and the kaffir lime leaves for this characteristic.  Together with lots of Thai sweet basil – you could see from the photo that I asked for an extra bowl that I tore into the dish tableside – they form a bouquet whose essence melts into the creaminess of the coconut cream and milk that renders this curry dish to have a more soupy consistency.

Which I never complain about as it is exactly what I need to douse plump long grains of steamed jasmine rice with.

My Thai green curry chicken at Thai Express

 

Friendship had this Thai BBQ chicken meal.

 

Copyright © 2011 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

