Clams in ginger broth

28 09 2011

Clams in ginger broth

ONE OF the things that I look back to with much gratitude is that first time I was allowed to make dinner for the whole family… at just 10 years old.  Unsupervised.

For the first time, I felt empowered amidst pots, pans, utensils, and knives.  They say you never forget your first.  And this one, I absolutely won’t.  Whatever sense of independence I have in the kitchen, I owe to that moment.  I vividly recall even the details of the place setting I thoroughly fussed about.

That’s the reason why, if I miss something – both in the sense of suffering from the lack of or failing to experience – all I have to do is cook for myself.

Yesterday, I missed enjoying my favorite Chili Mussels at Casper Seafood.  So on my way home from work, I made a stop at the nearby supermarket to get live clams and whip up something.

I was so glad to get my hands on the last pack!

 

Clams are now clean and ready!

It was not chili clams I ended up making, but clams in ginger broth – from stove to tabletop in mere minutes – was all the comfort and nourishment I needed.

It goes without saying just how much this goes well with steamed white rice!

 

 

Copyright © 2011 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

