Send for Sendong

23 12 2011

Text messages from new friends alerted me of what was happening back home. I felt like I was living under a rock. (Photo by TY, taken with my brand new SONY NEX-5D)

IT TOOK a text message from a new friend, a Malaysian, for me to realize that another typhoon had hit the Philippines.  And hit it real damn hard.

I heard your country was hit by a storm.  So sorry to know about this.  Is your house affected?

Glad to hear your home is alright.  But the storm, it’s quite depressing.  Take it positively, at least it reminds us not to take anything for granted and (learn to) appreciate.

The following morning, I bumped into another new friend, a Singaporean, and he too asked about how my family was doing.  He was quick to add though that, “the typhoon is in Mindanao.  You live in the north?”

Then he said something like, “I don’t know how to say this, but I’m glad your family is alright.”  I got what he meant.  It’s all about feeling grateful you were “spared” because it’s just unimaginable for all of those affected.  And it’s even more unimaginable to think of all those lives that were lost.

International efforts are still well on their way to help the victims of this natural disaster.  I hope we could all do our share.  Here’s a link to Ms. Daphne Oseña Paez’s post on UNICEF’s emergency appeal.

I want to say THANK YOU to all my Malaysian, Chinese, American, and Singaporean friends who did express their concern.  It means a lot.

 

Copyright © 2011 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

