Pa rum pa pum pum

26 12 2011

St. Michael's Rd, Singapore, at dusk on Christmas Eve 2011

A CHRISTMAS pageant, for me, has suburban America written all over it.  So imagine my surprise when I learned there was one that was going to be held here in Singapore, on Christmas Eve, at the church where one of my friends goes to.  I looked forward to it, while thinking that it felt so Gilmore girls season one.

The play was told from the perspective of the grown-up Little Drummer Boy.  The costumes were elaborate.  The singing heartfelt (the lead was a bit Josh Groban-ish).  The children’s acting rang with sincerity.

For a while there, while seated at the front pew, I forgot that I would rather be somewhere else – my whole family was at my youngest brother’s house – and got awashed in the spirit of the season.

I left the church singing to myself, “I am a poor boy too, pa rum pa pum pum.”  Me and my drum.

The little drummer boys and the rest of the cast get ready for the processional.

 

The grown-up Little Drummer Boy narrates the story of Christmas. "I am a poor boy too, pa rum pa pum pum..."

 

The pageant started with the whole cast appearing on stage.

 

This group of girls took care of all the dancing that was needed in the play.

 

The grown-up Little Drummer Boy and the cutest shepherd girls.

 

Didn't I say they are the cutest?!

 

Josh Groban, err, the grown-up Little Drummer Boy waltzes back into the scene.

 

Mary and Joseph make it to Bethlehem where the baby Jesus was born.

 

Mary, Joseph, and the baby Jesus

 

The grown-up Little Drummer Boy reflects on his finest gift, playing on his drum. "Come, they told me, pa rum pa pum pum..."

 

Six Little Drummer Boys

 

As the song built to a raging crescendo, two Little Drummer Boys went down to bang on these big drums. PA RUM PA PUM PUM!

 

The adult choir

 

Take a bow.

 

eNTeNG at St. Michael's Church, Singapore, Christmas Eve, 2011

 

St. Michael's Church, Singapore

 

Copyright © 2011 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

