Breathless in anticipation

1 02 2012

I CONSIDER myself quite fortunate for having my “couple” friends – I don’t mean any particular two, but rather my closest friends who happen to be couples, married or otherwise.  These people take care of me, love me, are generous to me, and take me along on the ride of their lives.  That sounds like I may be in the running to be the international symbol of the third wheel.  I don’t mind the least.  And frankly, I couldn’t care less about what other people think.

A couple of weeks back, I had to yank myself from a very busy evening at work just so I could make it to dinner with one of my – there’s that expression again – “couple friends.”  We’ve been exchanging text messages the whole day about this “something” they needed to share with me.  I was really busy and feared there was no early way out of work that I came close to begging to know what was up.

But they were firm with their resolve that the news could only be shared in person.  And over dinner.

So I made it to the appointed time and place, ordered my usuals of clams in miso soup and tons of steamed Japanese rice, grabbed plate after plate after plate of sushi and sashimi from the conveyor belt to my left, and patiently waited for the news.

Let me just say that I was so glad and honored that they chose me to know about it first (outside family).  And that they wouldn’t hear of any of my excuses that it was okay to just text message me about it, but rather insisted on a face-to-face sharing.

Sometimes, hard as you try, you will never know the exact moment when your friendships are formed.  But as it with my “couple friends,” I at least can recall the highlights, the punctuations, the otherwise-passing-split-seconds when our friendships are reinforced.  Sometimes, having me emcee their wedding reception sort of cements it (Haha!) – but it is not a requirement.

Sometimes, adversity beautifies it.

I am single and alone in this city.  I’m thankful for having my “couple friends.”

Clams in miso soup

 

Snails!

 

Copyright © 2012 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved

Actions

Information

One response

12 02 2012
rhosgar

Have you tried their dragon roll? It’s one of our faves there.

Like

Leave a Reply

