Paul Frank

19 02 2012

Paul Frank on the display window

I KNOW exactly when I realized I needed to start wearing prescription glasses.  It was one hot Manila day, June 1991.

My trigonometry professor gave us a 100-point quiz on the first day of class.  We didn’t know why, except that he said it was to assess where the class stood.  On the next day, he handed back our papers telling us they were to be the basis of our seating arrangement.  I got a perfect score and was made to sit at the last seat in a corner.

It didn’t help at all that there was half a pillar obstructing the view of the blackboard.  What made it ultimately feel like the loser’s seat was that even if I’d move my head to get a clearer view as I took down notes or copy the questions to a quiz, the view wasn’t getting any clearer at all.

I knew I needed glasses.

My glasses through the years have run a whole gamut of sizes, styles, colors, and price range.  The most I’ve had were a number of rectangular-shaped black acetate frames – from the cheapest that literally cost me nothing to those that you’d need to save up for.  My more recent ones have included a blue acetate from a Japanese brand, an all-titanium pair that cost about US$ 580.00 that I got just because the insurance covered everything except twenty (I’ve since passed this frame on to one of my brothers), an Emporio Armani, and a brandless plastic frame in a wood finish.  (Louis Vuitton’s latest campaign features frames in wood finish.)

My current favorites happen to be my Ray-Ban Classic Wayfarers – in white and in black.  The red one is waiting for me in the Philippines.

My Ray-Ban Classic Wayfarers in White

 

I got the one called the "Rare Print" edition that has multi-color designs printed on the inside.

I bought the white on one Duty Free shopping date I had with my family.  After Mama had her fill of inspecting the very limited Le Pliage offering at Longchamp – she did walk away with a huge “Tree of Life” scarf that she would tie to her limited edition “Tree of Life” Le Pliage in small, short handle – we all went to the Ray-Ban counter.  Everyone got the pair of sunnies they liked the most.  I knew right there and then that I wanted the Classic Wayfarers.  But in white.

A trip to the optometrist and my Ray-Ban sunnies became my new daily spectacles.  I love it so much that one of my brothers got me the black pair as a “just because” present.

The one in black

Lately, I’ve been considering getting a pair of Paul Frank.  I’m so loving their designs, having seen them on my friends Wai Hon first and now, Yu Chen.  I’m seriously thinking about it but would often have the perfect excuse of not having the time for it, especially after every time I would check my wristwatch at work.

Then I turned around, after doing groceries at Cold Storage, and there it was – Paul Frank on both the display windows of the friendly neighborhood optical shop.

 

 

 

Copyright © 2012 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

