Caramelization and cooking solo

7 04 2012

(Written on 04 April 2012)

Fresh Roma tomatoes sizzling away in a pan. One step to a most perfect sauce!

IT’S 12:25 AM on a Wednesday morning.  I was so excited to finally get my hands on this T-Shirt that apparently can only be purchased in Malaysia, that I decided to have it washed.  Then I will have to pray real hard for it to dry so that I can wear it to the office later.  Now I’m hungry.

The nearest 24-hour McDonald’s is still quite a considerable walk from my place.  And, didn’t I just say it was way past midnight already?  Good thing is, I do know how to cook.  Knowing how to cook has its perks – foremost of which is not having your sustenance at the mercy of somebody else.

And while the thought of cooking for one’s self may sound so solitary, much worse, sad, I actually find it quite a joy.  Especially since you will have yourself to reap the rewards right after.

For tonight, my only resort could only be pasta.  In one sweeping and scooping motion, I’ve got all that I needed – from the chiller: three fresh, crisp Roma tomatoes, and hydroponically grown sweet basil; from the refrigerator shelf: a wedge of Perfect Italiano parmesan cheese; and from the cupboard:  Bertolli extra virgin olive oil, crushed red pepper flakes and San Remo angel hair pasta.  Oh, there was one more, a bottle of this prepared pasta sauce I suddenly fancied at the grocery shelves the other day – Agnesi Sugo Basilico.  I think it was the “Product of Italy” mark that made me snap it up.

I can whip up angel hair pomodoromy angel hair pomodoro – in my sleep.  Every time, I would find a way to put a twist to it.  Tonight, I suddenly felt the urge to put a char on the fresh tomatoes.  If I had an oven, I would’ve probably roasted them first until they achieve sweet caramelization on the cut surfaces.  For now, the blistering them on a hot pan with a thin film of extra virgin olive oil would do.

I have a sweet spot for this pasta dish.  It’s one of those dishes that helped further develop my confidence in cooking, making me attuned to the rhythms of the kitchen.  Which, at this every late hour, began with the clanking of pots and pans against the burner grill.

For this one, I seeded the tomatoes before peeling them by first charring the skins.

The tomatoes are turned over once, to allow for the cut surfaces to achieve some caramelization.

There's the char I'm looking for!

I've always been partial to parmesan cheese that is shaved or torn. Something really rustic. That is why I would but wedges of cheese instead of pre-grated ones.

Done in a few minutes! Not even ten!

The pasta is al dente. The sauce is really chunky. Just the way I like it.

Agnesi Sugo Basilico Pasta Sauce, a new fave.

Copyright © 2012 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

