AquaTecK 3+1

22 04 2012

Amazing Maritime Challenge, Singapore Maritime Week, Resorts World Sentosa, Sunday, 22 April 2012

AT THE rate I’m exposing myself to the elements, most especially the sun, it seems  that – even to me – I’m working against a deadline to achieve a tan three shades darker than my natural skin tone.

But it’s not like I’m in Alaska, where there may be only four weeks of summer a year.  For crying out loud, I’m in Singapore where there is sun the whole year round.

So what’s the rush?

Actually, there is no rush.  It just so happens that most of the activities I signed up for to either support or participate in are spaced quite near apart.  Case in point?  Only three hours of sleep separated my cheering for Team WHATEVER at the Soccer Carnival and my participation in today’s Amazing Maritime Challenge, the opening salvo of the festivities of the Singapore Maritime Week 2012.

The event kicked off at the Bull Ring near the Universal Studios globe.

The challenge was open to teams of four members each.  I was invited by three Singaporean colleagues and friendsChiang, Kim, and Tze Yoke – to be the fourth member of their group.  These people have been very good to me at work so I was just too happy to say yes.

The first order of business on challenge day – today – was to come up with a team name, and around it create and make a design incorporating the “five maritime elements” (say what?!).

They asked me if I had a team name in mind.  It just occurred to me, “3+1.”  We’re Team 3+1 – three Singaporeans and one Filipino!  And then I played with the initials of our names and thought that given the industry where we come from, the resulting acronym sounded apropos – TeCK.  So we became Team “TeCK 3+1.”

But besides committing to our blank canvass of bibs the images of very-primary school-artwork-caliber fish, seaweed, jellyfish and starfish, Tze Yoke suddenly floated the idea of prefixing the decided team name with the word “Aqua.”  My immediate reaction was that he was going for an explicit expression of affinity to water, probably the only maritime element we’re certain of (out of the possible five).  Then I wrote the name down on the bib and it made so much more sense to me.

AquaTeCK 3+1.  Now I get it.  Haha!

My Team and I, waiting for the Resorts World Sentosa bus.

 

Let's try that group photo one more time. Here I am with Kim, Chiang, and Tze Yoke.

 

The shoes!

 

Starting to work on our challenge bibs

 

Our challenge bibs are done! Team "AquaTeCK 3+1" is now raring to go!

 

(To be continued…)

 

Copyright © 2012 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

