The Dark Knight Rises

28 05 2012

THE DARK Knight Rises, the movie, is yet to hit cinemas this coming July 2012.  But the real Dark Knight in my life, my best friend Batman, has risen above all others in his latest endeavor in life.

The Dark Knight and I, somewhere in Greenbelt 5!

He just finished his Masters in Business Administration (MBA) at the University of the Philippines Diliman, arguably my country’s foremost educational institution.  He graduated with a general grade point average of 1.1548!  As a student I’m used to getting “flat ones” – grades of “1.00” – myself, but that kind of average is just beyond my wildest dreams.  I graduated at the top of my class.  But not with that kind of grade.

What is more remarkable to me is that he did this while keeping a full-time job, and at a time when he welcomed his and his wife’s first bundle of joy into their lives.  How he juggled all of those aspects of his life, I really couldn’t imagine.

Some say you can’t have it all.  But I guess, in Batman’s case, you can almost.  He does almost have it all – if not already.

Congratulations, best friend.  I’m so proud of you!

One of my send-off lunches before coming to Singapore was with Batman.

 

He presented me with yet another one of the toys from his personal collection. This one was specifically tasked to watch over me in the Lion City. Haha!

 

eNTeNG and Batman. For the record, that’s my happy face. Hahaha!

 

See, he was already doing what he was tasked to do. Watch over me! Haha!

 

Batman, waiting for boarding at the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, 29 June 2011

 

Batman, a collage…

 

Batman, ION Orchard, Orchard Road, Singapore

 

Batman, in Black & White, Kinokuniya, Takashimaya Shopping Centre, Orchard Road, Singapore

 

Classic Batman, painted on Chucks, Converse, Mustafa Department Store, Farrer Park, Singapore

 

The Dark Knight Rises, move poster, Golden Village Cinemas, Marina Square, Singapore

 

See Batman, you’re even the image on my MRT card! Haha! (Photo taken by Yong Run, who has always been so patient and gracious to snap my likeness whenever I strike a pose… and not scream at the top of his lungs at me and say, “eNTeNG, would you please get yourself an iPhone4?! Geez!”)

 

Copyright © 2012 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved

Actions

Information

13 responses

28 05 2012
Drei

gusto ko yung poster…paki-uwi naman.. 😀

Like

28 05 2012
entengvince

You know me. I shall do everything in my power. Magagawan yan ng paraan 🙂

Like

28 05 2012
Drei

…and the shoes would look better on me than on the display rack 🙂

Like

28 05 2012
entengvince

No problem. We’d end up having the same shoes though. Hahaha! But I shall give you the right to wear them. I’ll keep mine on display, alongside my own collectibles. I couldn’t find the snaps of the shirts I saw. This is not all of the Batman stuff I’ve come across here in the Lion City. You’re right, this is Gotham City!

Like

28 05 2012
Drei

seriously, thank you! 🙂 this was a surprise…a very pleasant one 🙂

Like

28 05 2012
entengvince

Life is short. We have to accentuate the positive. And express our appreciation of the people in our lives. You’ve been really a great friend to me. My words are sometimes not enough. Moving here in Singapore let me know how fickle-minded people can be. And how your friends may not really be your friends. But you’ve been one of the best examples of what that word means. Thank you. Seriously, I will block one day on my next vacation. We need to catch up!

Like

28 05 2012
Drei

pag-uwi mo, madami akong kwento sayo…we have a lot of catchng up to do! there’s…. then …. and there’s …. 😛

Like

28 05 2012
entengvince

there’s? then? there’s? …that sounds a lot. Hahaha! Couldn’t wait for my vacation to come along. Haha!

Like

28 05 2012
Drei

you need to go HOME once in a while 🙂 by HOME, i meant chismis, pang-okray sa mga tao-tao 😛 and pang-aasar ko sa iyo 🙂

Like

28 05 2012
entengvince

This one made me laugh so hard. Haha!

Like

28 05 2012
Drei

alam mo, boring ang masyadong mabait! 😛

Like

28 05 2012
entengvince

Well, I’m no saint. You should know that. But only-human that I am, I do the best I can.

Like

28 05 2012
Drei

Eto bagay quote sa iyo:

“I may be on the side of the angels – but don’t think for one second that I am one of them.” – Sherlock Holmes

Like

Leave a Reply

