On my mind. In my heart. In my belly.

3 06 2012

Buckwheat (soba) noodles… and that’s miso soup in the background.

JAPAN WILL always have a very special place in my heart.  The very first time I ever did find myself in a fuselage, my final destination was the Tokyo Narita International Airport.  From there I hopped on a bus that took me to beautiful Yokohama.

I led a four-student delegation that participated in a United Nations International Summit for children and students.  That meant having to deliver impromptu speeches in front of student bodies and one ultimate speech at the culmination of the week-long festivities.  It was so surreal.  There I was, in a very United Nations setting, with a headset on, listening to the English translation of the speeches delivered by the delegates from Shanghai, Bangalore, and the host Yokohama, among other cities.

Then it was my turn.  After my speech – in which I first made use of the adjective ‘ubiquitous’ in any of my written or spoken work – the program had time for one special number.  They had asked me to sing, having heard me do so in some of the previous days’ engagements.  I sang acapella Smokey Mountain’s Better World.  It was well-received, prompting an Austrian violinist in the audience to offer me a music scholarship in his country – only if he would get my parents’ consent.  I’m currently an engineer.

Today, I don’t have to be in the land of cherry blossoms to be reminded of Japan.  It is always in my heart.  And in my belly.

As of late, only miso soup, lots of tofu, and buckwheat (soba) noodles will do for my midnight snack.  And even when I would come home really tired from a long day at work, the ease with which I can whip up these Japanese staples tells me that to appease my grumbling tummy, only they will really do.

Sometimes, lots of tofu make it to my miso soup.

 

Miso soup can not only feel restorative, but also filling and healthy. I recommend it. Obviously, in large doses. Haha!

Copyright © 2012 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

