Big bold letters in red

24 06 2012

If there is ever any doubt in your mind what season it is in Singapore.

I’VE LONG claimed in this space that I only shop where they say sale in big bold letters – as in SALE.  And being here in the Lion City, home to Orchard Road, ranked first in the list of 30 of the world’s most famous shopping streets, I’ve come to realize that sale does still come in big bold red letters, though they spell a different word:  GSS (the Great Singapore Sale).

The paradox of it all is that I seemed to have lost all urge to shop.  And when I do, it is to run an errand for family or friends back home.  But for myself?  Nah.  Well, not anymore.  My only little piece of heaven as of late is the second-hand wristwatch stores that dot the stretch of malls along the world’s most famous shopping street.  I fix my favorites with a long, focused stare that pierce right through the vitrines.  But before any of their beauty lulls me into a false state of security I would get by acquiring them, I snap right out of it with the screaming thought, “I cannot afford any of you!”  Haha!

For now, I’m quite happy and content to be able to strut down Orchard Road.  How often can one be in a place touted to be better than, say, Paris?

At Coach, Paragon Mall

 

By the Ralph Lauren store on Scotts Road. I love it for sentimental reasons.

 

Back at Ralph Lauren. I told you I love this store.

 

At Kate Spade, Raffles City

 

My Mama and Sisters-In-Law will be so happy.

 

At Louis Vuitton, ION Orchard

 

Me and mirror panels…

 

My reflection framed by funky timepieces and knick knacks.

 

One of the come-ons at Paragon Mall is live entertainment. This trio was good. I looked at them and thought up three names who can help put up a similar act. “Shall I start singing for my supper?”

 

It’s practically summer all-year-round in Singapore. The only other season is… GSS.

 

Copyright © 2012 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 06 2012
Alexis Araneta

If I were at Orchard and saw that huge GSS sign, well, you’d probably need to get me some Ventolin from all the wheezing and hyperventilating! Hahaha!

But yeah, it must be expensive there in Singapore. Well, I imagine it to be. I am, after all, a proud Divisoria shopper. Hahaha!

Like

1 07 2012
Kialeh

Wao… Shop a lot again >.< by the way wish u happy 1 year anniversary working in Sg. I can't SMS u hence left u the msg here =)

Like

Leave a Reply

