Kuya Wee Sern

5 07 2012

Wee Sern at this year’s company-sponsored soccer games

HALF OF a tenth of a score, and four days ago, I came upon a place anxious and not knowing what to do.  All I knew was that I was sent to sit near a pole labeled G-26. Days went on and I came to know people.

One of the most unforgettable acquaintances I made was with someone who had just come back from a months-long assignment in a place where, as I had already said, potatoes are so good they are studied by a research body.  I couldn’t forget that introduction because of his warm, ready smile and his handshake that undeniably made me feel so welcome in this new place.

Even more days passed and I found myself sharing conversations with him that have run the whole gamut from the mundane, the simple daily scenes, to the more profound matters of life, relationships, and what it means to be a good citizen of one’s country.  Suffice it to say, he has metamorphosed from one acquaintance to one really good friend.  I couldn’t be any happier that it has turned out to be that way.

I look up to him as one of the paragons of hardwork and giving one’s best to what one does.  He always seems to find the best in others, something that I think I have a hard time doing sometimes.  And I’m very proud of the fact that he is my friend.  I will be totally remiss if, in the middle of this day – no matter the hour – I would forget to remember that today, the fifth of July, happens to be his birthday.

Happy Birthday, Wee Sern!

(And congratulations and best wishes on your upcoming marriage… tomorrow!)

Wee Sern and me

Copyright © 2012 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

