The Amazing Spider–Man, amazing many times over

6 08 2012

Top of the pack. Andrew Garfield, who stars as Peter Parker in the latest Spidey installment, graces the covers of the latest editions of a number of leading magazines. Kinokuniya, Takashimaya S.C., Singapore.

AT THE rate I’m seeing – and seeing again – the DARK Knight Rises and The Amazing Spider–Man, it is starting to feel like I’m making up for not seeing any of the other recent superhero flicks (The Avengers, Captain America, Thor).

(The “review in SMS” is taken care of by photos.)

Right after seeing the movie, I sent my “review in SMS” to 51 people on my directory. This is Part One.

 

One of a number of reactions

 

 

The Amazing Spider–Man is such a vicarious thrill, “vicarious” being the operative word.  Peter Parker (Andrew Garfield perfectly cast) crawls on walls, slings his web, swings over the New York skyline and gets into fist fights that make me duck before any of the punches would have struck me.  Surely, he needs all the caloric intake he could have, frozen macaroni & cheese and his Aunt May’s disaster of a meatloaf included.

So “vicariously,” I made sure that my voracious appetite was not denied too.  On the first time I saw the movie, at Shaw Theatres Lido on Orchard Road, I first had a Japanese dinner of my favorite Cha Soba (cold green buckwheat noodles with a soy-mirin dipping sauce), salmon sashimi, and a cup of Japanese rice.  For during the movie, french macarons in fleur de sel caramel, chocolate noir, hazelnut, feuilletine, and rose from Canelé Pâtisserie Chocolaterie together with their signature Iced Chocolate drink.  After the emotional and action-packed ride that was the movie, I just had to have Soya Chicken Braised Noodles and a large platter of Hong Kong Baby Kai Lan with Oyster Sauce.

I was hungry that I threw my “shoot-first-eat-later” policy out of the window for this movie night dinner. However, the Japanese rice was just so pretty to not be phorographed.

 

Canelé Pâtisserie Chocolaterie is one of Singapore’s best!

 

They make a rainbow! French macarons by Canelé Pâtisserie Chocolaterie.

 

My box of french macarons is ready!

 

A peak into my box of six!

 

After-movie dinner spread included Steamed Hong Kong Baby Kai Lan with Oyster Sauce

 

Soya Chicken

 

Braised Noodles

 

Perfectly cooked. Then, perfectly tossed in the delicious sauce.

 

Emerging from ION Orchard, beneath the lattice work that is the mall’s façade, I channeled my inner Peter Parker, wishing I could web-sling my way home, instead of taking my usual red line-to-purple line MRT trip.

At my age, there’s still a part of me that wishes I were a superhero too.  Ah, the movies.  Amazing.

The Amazing Spider-Man, amazing many times over.

 

Excited to see The Amazing Spider-Man, with Canelé Pâtisserie Chocolaterie munchies in hand!

 

Copyright © 2012 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

