Interchanged

1 10 2012

I debuted my GLYCINE Incursore on a trip to Universal Studios Singapore on 22 January 2012.

AT THE recent HUBLOT event, the guy who assisted me, Kelvin, Senior Sales Executive of The Hour Glass at their Tang Plaza branch, made a very astute observation as to the wristwatch I was wearing.  You see, I made a conscious effort to wear a brand that their store carries.

“That’s a GLYCINE, right?  But it doesn’t have its original leather strap.”

GLYCINE, fresh from The Hour Glass

 

I really adore the crown detail on the crown. Viewed a different way, it could very well be my initial – “E” for eNTeNG.

 

I dress up this watch with leather bracelets. Here, I stacked it up with a FOSSIL double–tour skinny leather bracelet. I took this shot on board the Circle Line on my way to a dinner at The Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands.

I brandished my timepiece as I launched to the story behind the change from the original deep dark brown leather strap to an all–stainless steel look.  The humidity in the Lion City could be unforgiving.  So as to preserve the original leather, I went on a frantic search for a suitable replacement – only a stainless steel bracelet would do.  Soon enough, I realized one thing – it is quite hard to look for something 24 mm in size, that doesn’t have the hollow voluminousness of tin can, and the ubiquitous look of Seiko.  (No offense meant to Seiko, as I do own several pieces from their Kinetic range.  It was just not the look I was going for.)

My search that covered the stretch of Bras Basah, all the way to the City Hall Area, and then to Raffles, culminated at ION on Orchard where I chanced upon one store that carries wristwatches from Denmark, pieces that exude “Scandinavian coolness and simplicity”.

I snapped up the one in really chunky, solid stainless steel that looked so cool and so simple, all the branding was on the timepiece’s 45–mm face and caseback – nowhere in the bracelet.  I thought to myself, all the more perfect for it to go incognito while attached to my GLYCINE.  And it is in the exact size I needed – 24 mm – not 22 that still makes the watch dangle somehow and certainly not 20 that calls attention to improvisation that should’ve been given more than just second thoughts.

I think I got props from Kelvin for my design and comfort aesthetic.  Though I do know that should I just want to satisfy my knack for contingencies, I could just go back to The Hour Glass and stock up on original GLYCINE leather straps I could place on order.

Here is the exact same GLYCINE Incursore, decked with an all–stainless steel bracelet of Scandinavian provenance – Denmark, by way of Copenhagen, to be exact.

 

A closer look at a somewhat transformed tick–tocker

 

I love how solid the bracelet links look and feel. It doesn’t hurt that they do remind me of chocolate bars. Haha!

 

The bracelet locks in place with a push–button clasp on a double deployant buckle.

 

The bracelet links are as beautiful at the back, here perfectly complementing the exhibition caseback.

 

See what I mean? It fits at a comfortably snug 24 mm.

I think that one of the best things about wristwatches nowadays is that it is easier to change straps.  And with the sound of the click that locks the lugs in place, a “new look” is heralded.  I think Philip Stein saw the huge potential of this feature when they came out with their wristwatches that not only have limitless options in straps – in terms of materials, textures, and colors – but also the ease of a spring mechanism to release or lock them in place.

Philip Stein Signature Large with its original lizard leather strap.

The craze over Technomarine, very early on, was warranted.  All you had to do was look at all the rubber/jelly straps on offer and you knew you wanted to have all of them.

Technomarine Apnea in red

 

Here is the same watch with a black strap.

 

Technomarine Raft Chronograph with a yellow face, in all–black

 

By the colors of the Italian flag

 

The same watch with the colors mixed and matched

 

The Technomarine Raft Chronograph, now in all–yellow

 

The exact same Raft, now really in all–yellow

 

Another one of my wristwatches that I’ve loved “playing” with is this nine–year–old Guess watch with an Art Deco face. I got it for a steal at ROSS in Folsom, California.

 

It originally came with a really supple black leather strap. But you know me, soon enough I was looking for an all–stainless bracelet. And I knew exactly what I wanted – mesh! Here is my feeble attempt at an “editorial” spread.

 

I really love the very Art Deco face. Well, hello gorgeous!

And at the HUBLOT Pop Up Store that day, I couldn’t be reminded any better by the wide array of choices for straps that could breathe life to that oft–heard expression, “like a kid in a candy store.”

See what I told you. I love putting my wristwatches in a V–formation.

 

Copyright © 2012 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

